PDA

View Full Version : PB 333 cell phone data transmission

jshooter
Jul 16, 2004, 11:10 AM
The latest demand in my industry is being able to transmit data from the road. I'm currently on a Powerbook Lombard 333 mhz, running OS 9.2 320MB Ram, 2 USB ports, serial port, PC slot with firewire Cardbus which needs AC power.The files (photos) that I need to transmit are usually 1/2 MB-1MB each. I've kind of ruled out Wi-fi as an option since I could be in some remote areas, and have decided to go with a USB connection and transmit via cell phone "if" it will work. I've been doing a lot of research and am coming up with windows drivers for most cell phones. I'm really new at this and have been using Fetch from home. I do have T-Mobile service and have been looking at phones with the USB option. Does anyone have any experience, or suggestions. Thanks much.

kgarner
Jul 16, 2004, 11:17 AM
It will work. Although it may be kind of slow for you. I connect to the internet through my phone via Bluetooth all the time (moving soon and hope to get broadband then) through TMobile. It works but its definietly not fast. It feels kind of like the days of the 33.6 Kbps modems. It is definetly doable, but don't expect huge speeds. Once TMobile gets their Edge network available things could improve quite a bit, but it will be awhile before that happens everywhere.

jshooter
Jul 16, 2004, 11:25 AM
Thanks KG. Regarding Bluetooth, I don't think that my PB has that option, although I've read that there are USB/Bluetooth converters out there. What about drivers? I won't mind the slow speeds at this point. Just need to get up and running. New client told me yesterday that it's a must if I want to work for them. Thanks much for the input.

Dreadnought
Jul 16, 2004, 11:32 AM
For bluetooth, don't you need os x for that?

jsw
Jul 16, 2004, 11:36 AM