Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CrazyIllini

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 8, 2009
I'm just starting to learn to program and I was wondering if you could write flash without shelling out the hundreds of dollars for Adobe Flash Professional. I am aware of the 30-day trial too. I would be interested in a third-party program Thanks.

Ride9650

macrumors 6502
Jun 29, 2007
Are you asking about designing in Flash or writing actionscript?

If you just want to simply design using flash, there is no alternative unfortunately.

If you want to write actionscript, there are plenty of free tools for that, though there are no free compliers that I know of, with the possible exception of the Flex SDK, though I've never tried before using just the SDK; I've always compiled under Flex Builder.

You can write actionscript in any text editor, just remember to save it as a ".as" file. If you happen to be a student, you can get Flex Builder 3 for free.

Ride9650

macrumors 6502
Jun 29, 2007
I was asking about flash. Could you describe the differences between flash and flex please.

? I know, but are you simply looking to use the program to design, or use Actionscript, which is the programing language of Flash, to make things?

As to your other question,
I guess you could look at Flex as an offset of Flash thats more data-centric, meaning that the larger overall focus is not aesthetics, but moreso functionality.

Another difference is that Flex apps can be brought offline, and installed on a user's computer.

Flex also has its own language and programming patterns.

There are alot of differences for me to go over, just do a search for more info. There is plenty of information out there as well as tutorials showing the differences.