PDA

View Full Version : "New" out of the box 1st Gen Iphone not charging

JT-N
Oct 20, 2009, 04:25 PM
Hi all, newbie here.

I purchased a "new" 1st Gen Iphone off of eBay this past week. It was listed as "new" as well as being jailbroken and unlocked for use on Tmobile (my carrier).

I got it in the mail yesterday and everything on it function wise appears to work like a charm, as well it does actually appear to be "new"... it came in the factory box with all the clear plastic protector stuff on it along with all the factory sealed accessories. By all accounts this is either a new or a very high quality factory refirb. It has zero scratches or any sign that anyone else has used it ever.

I hooked it up to my computer and my Itunes read it (and continues to read it) just fine. I can synch, transfer files, you name it. The phone itself seems to function 100%. I have not yet set up my email or gone too deep into the sub functions too far yet but I have to have a crash or other problem.... except one.

The phone does not seem to be able to charge correctly. Out of the box the phone showed what appeared to be a 100% charge on the battery. Over the course of me trying it out, playing with it and synching it to my Itunes it dropped to about 70%. At that point I noticed it did not seem to be charging when hooked up to Itunes on my computer's USB cable. When plugged into the wall or plugged into my computer (using two different USB cables, the dock, without the dock ,etc.) the phone shows the lightening bolt on the little battery and shows the big battery which normally indicates charging... except the actual amount of charge never seems to budge.