View Full Version : ipod scam
clr900
Jul 23, 2004, 07:52 PM
I think we should all flood their irc channel, maybe we could prevent some people from getting caught up in the scam. I just went there and got banned after calling them scammers. :p
There were a lot of people in there but no one else saying it was a scam. A lot of people were asking about references and stuff.
TreeHugger
Jul 23, 2004, 07:56 PM
I think we should all flood their irc channel, maybe we could prevent some people from getting caught up in the scam. I just went there and got banned after calling them scammers. :p
There were a lot of people in there but no one else saying it was a scam. A lot of people were asking about references and stuff.
um, details? I have no idea what you're talking about? sorry...
clr900
Jul 23, 2004, 07:58 PM
Sorry I didn't want to get banned for talking about *********.com
But if you go there, there is an irc link for a chat channel.
Sun Baked
Jul 23, 2004, 08:06 PM
Sorry I didn't want to get banned for talking about *********.com
But if you go there, there is an irc link for a chat channel.It's that referer # that'll toast your tail.
Basically compare this Gratis site to the others, there has to be a reason this site is NOT like the others.
Here was the canned response...
It's "supposed" to be a Gratis site.
IF this is really a "Gratis Internet" site and not a rip-off, then why doesn't the guy add this site to the front page of www.FreeDVDs.com www.FreeCDs.com www.FreeVideoGames.com www.FreeGiftPlanet.com
The other sites are quite clear about how you earn the points, *********.com looks like a rip-off with no explanation about "how" you earn the free ipod -- beside the "participate in an on-line offer" which smells a lot like "buy me"
If it is a Gratis Internet site -- he made it look like exactly like an illegal pyramid/matrix scheme, which could sink the entire company and all the sites.
And it's odd since he has electronics on one of the other sites, while this one doesn't look or act like any of the other sites.
When the site looks odd, it's usually a pure rip-off using somebody's good name.
---
The cancel the account later and you won't have to pay, doesn't really help.
dav
Jul 23, 2004, 08:06 PM
Let it be, just avoid it yourself.
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.