Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Daringescape

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 7, 2003
CA
Just curious to see what some of you think about sites like this?

I feel like they are ruining our industry with people competing for work on spec disguised as "contests".

I have been freelancing full time for the past 4 years and recently work has pretty much dried up. A lot of the companies I have approached are looking for someone to do design work for the equivalent of less than min. wage.

Its very sad, and while I know there are companies out there willing to pay what good design is worth, the pool seems to be getting smaller and smaller.

Just wondered what you guys thought.

THX1139

macrumors 68000
Mar 4, 2006
Most designers who participate in a business model like crowdspring are not going to be able to provide the kind of service that major industry clients want. They may be talented but that doesn't mean they are creative or know how to establish relationships. In order to solve a businesses design problem you need to do the research to come up with an innovative solution. I found that the best solutions come from doing the research; not just jumping to the first solution that pops into your head. I don't think that crowd solutions allow for in depth research because the track is too fast and there isn't enough money. It promotes a first idea is best concept.... or worse yet, a template. A business has to be careful because they might end up with a bunch of cookie cutter ideas to choose from and it will affect their brand in a negative way.