Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

corbywan

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 4, 2008
Forest Grove, OR
I'm a newb at setting up DNS. I get some of the big picture concepts but have never had to do one myself. This is part of the educational process.

I have a Mac Mini server with SLS. It's behind an Airport Extreme. It is going to perform all services for our organization. Web, mail, pretty much everything it can do it will do. For the A record (Machine) do I put my static public IP or the internal private IP? Is it better to add CNAME (Alias) records for the other services that point to my root domain name (example.com) or A records that point to the public (or private?) IP address? The SLS docs say to use CNAMES but look at dreamhost (who is currently doing my DNS for a couple of domains) it looks like they use A records pointing to the same IP for things like FTP, instead of a CNAME. Is it a matter of preference?

I would also like this machine to become the primary name server for the domain with a coupe of off-site servers as the secondary and third name servers. Is this also an A record? If dreamhost is my registrar and I tell them I'd like ns1.example.com to be the name server, how do they know the IP address of the ns1 box?

Thanks in advance. I am Googling this stuff and trying to educate myself.

belvdr

macrumors 603
Aug 15, 2005
I'm a newb at setting up DNS. I get some of the big picture concepts but have never had to do one myself. This is part of the educational process.