PDA

View Full Version : Virus Alert enail to .mac account




St. George
Jul 28, 2004, 05:30 PM
Greetings

I've received a couple of emails to my second emaol-only email account with .mac

They read:

Dear user xxxx@mac.com,

Your email account has been used to send a huge amount of unsolicited commercial e-mail messages during this week.
Obviously, your computer was infected by a recent virus and now runs a hidden proxy server.

Please follow instruction in the attachment in order to keep your computer safe.

Virtually yours,
The mac.com team.

(Then there's an attached file to click)

Obvioulsy I haven't clicked on this attached file and they do appear to be false mails (grammar for a start).

What I'm wondering is how can I check for myself to see if I really am running a hidden proxy server.

I'm on 10.3.4 and using the mac firewall.

Regards
.m.



rdowns
Jul 28, 2004, 06:45 PM
Sounds like a bogus email designed to get you to click attachment which might do some harm. Ignore it.

MisterMe
Jul 28, 2004, 10:48 PM
Greetings

I've received a couple of emails to my second emaol-only email account with .mac

They read:

Dear user xxxx@mac.com,

Your email account has been used to send a huge amount of unsolicited commercial e-mail messages during this week.
Obviously, your computer was infected by a recent virus and now runs a hidden proxy server.

Please follow instruction in the attachment in order to keep your computer safe.

Virtually yours,
The mac.com team.

(Then there's an attached file to click)

Obvioulsy I haven't clicked on this attached file and they do appear to be false mails (grammar for a start).

What I'm wondering is how can I check for myself to see if I really am running a hidden proxy server.

I'm on 10.3.4 and using the mac firewall.

Regards
.m.This is a rather old hoax.

yellow
Jul 29, 2004, 03:35 AM
This is a bogus email, but it's not a "hoax" per se..

This is a virus email (the attachment is a Windows virus) generated by a Windows box infected with MyDoom.o.

It won't hard your Mac. It won't infect your Mac. Go ahead and ignore it.

St. George
Jul 29, 2004, 07:57 PM
Thanks all.

I tought it was another infected pc (ms) but just wanted to check - a lot of people have this particular email address as it's business related - kinda figures I'd get trouble from MS pcs as some point;)

.m.

jimsowden
Jul 29, 2004, 08:13 PM
View the long header, get the outgoing server's ip and whois.sc it. Then, contact the system admin of that server and alert them of whats going on.

KeithsPuma
Jul 30, 2004, 01:49 AM
Looks Like the Windows Virus "MYDOOM" to me
see -
http://uk.trendmicro-europe.com/enterprise/security_info/ve_detail.php?id=60590&VName=WORM_MYDOOM.M&VSect=T
Keith

yellow
Jul 30, 2004, 07:11 AM
Looks Like the Windows Virus "MYDOOM" to me

Yes.. already noted above.

This is a virus email (the attachment is a Windows virus) generated by a Windows box infected with MyDoom.o.