Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

solchitlins

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 12, 2009
Michigan
just bought this monitor :
http://www.staples.com/AOC-2236Vw-2...product_795826?cmArea=SC3:CG4:DP2000:CL142219

for $115

and before it arrived my PC totally broke.

I wanted my next computer to be a mac but can't afford anything expensive right now.

I'm a broke college student.
I see ads like this on craigs list near me.
"
New in box, It's a 1.83GHz Intel core 2 duo and includes everything when new. 1Gb ram, 80Gb HD, combo drive and GMA 950 video.
Cash with no trades. MB138LL/A
$450"

is that a good deal/computer or is it outdated and I can do better?

Should I return the monitor and buy something else instead?

I thought I could squeeze another year out of my pc but it's broken. I hate to invest any more cash into a pc but like I said I'm on a budget.
help please
thanks

53x12

macrumors 68000
Feb 16, 2009
$450 is a lot for a Mini that old. Try to come up with $550 and get a new Mini with your education discount:

- 2.26 C2D
- 2 GB memory
- 160 GB HD
- 9400M graphics
- SL

That right there is worth the extra $100 difference. These Mini are reasonable new with the education discount. Don't buy a used one for $450.

solchitlins

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 12, 2009
Michigan
$450 is a lot for a Mini that old. Try to come up with $550 and get a new Mini with your education discount:

- 2.26 C2D
- 2 GB memory
- 160 GB HD
- 9400M graphics
- SL

That right there is worth the extra $100 difference. These Mini are reasonable new with the education discount. Don't buy a used one for $450.

sorry I'm a little clueless
where do I buy the above? From the main apple store? Is there better deals from elsewhere?

and is the monitor I bought a alright match for that system? If so do I need an expensive apple adapter for it?
http://us.aoc.com/lcd_monitors/2236vw
thanks

dextermorgan