PDA

View Full Version : PowerPC keeps freezing and or asking to shut down.




smplorig
Nov 13, 2009, 08:10 AM
ok i have power mac G5 with a Dual 1.8 processor and 3gigs of RAM from 2003. the machine "was" running on leopard 10.5.8 (i think..it was the latest update but i dont remember) and it was an awesome machine for me. only a month ago i had my first problem, the machine froze, (which it had never done in the 2 years i had it) and i series of messeges appeared in trough the screen over the desktop saying something about...problem with kernel something ..something. i didnt pay much attention and restarted it. It didnt happen again until 2 weeks ago and from that point on it got worst. each time the kernel error had a different name, (as in ..kernel: "something" is corrupted.) then 4 days ago my mac just would not turn on. i tried a few trouble shooting steps to try to come up with a solution and this is what i found out:
its not the RAM: iwas able to test out every single one of them and they all checked out fine.
i switched the hard drive to another mac to see if i had the same error and fair enough i did.
i tried to start up in target mode in order to retrieve my data... that didnt work. it would freeze and ask to shut off.
so i think its the hard drive ..but im not sure. what can i do?
will CCC recover my drive even though its corrupted if thats the case?
also my when my computer would boot up it would be fine so long as i did not make the hard drive run to much, like i could open safari and browse the internet for hours, but the second i opened any other program it would start and a few senconds later freeze. which is why again, i think its the hard drive. i had tried resetting the power management Unit, taking outthe motherboards battery waiting 10 min and putting it back, and even trying to veryfiy the hard drive by using disk utility but nothing has worked. diskt utility will only make the drive freeze the comp. any ideas.?



Ktscheinqe
Nov 14, 2009, 02:21 AM
i agree that almost all symptoms implicate hard drive.
i guess the hdd is stuck solid, so it appears there's no "consumer" method to retrieve data.

AZREOSpecialist
Nov 15, 2009, 09:32 AM
Is this a liquid cooled PowerMac? If so, you may want to check to ensure your coolant isn't leaking and that you haven't burned out one of your CPUs. That happened to me a few years ago and had the entire cooling system and one CPU replaced. Apple paid for it, but otherwise it would have been a $1,400 repair. Good luck!

Hrududu
Nov 15, 2009, 12:25 PM
Is this a liquid cooled PowerMac? If so, you may want to check to ensure your coolant isn't leaking and that you haven't burned out one of your CPUs. That happened to me a few years ago and had the entire cooling system and one CPU replaced. Apple paid for it, but otherwise it would have been a $1,400 repair. Good luck!
*sigh* its a dual 1.8GHz model. :rolleyes:

AZREOSpecialist
Nov 15, 2009, 12:57 PM
*sigh* its a dual 1.8GHz model. :rolleyes:

How is this helpful?

ClassicII
Nov 15, 2009, 12:59 PM
Have you tried using disk warrior to test the drive on the other computer?

300D
Nov 15, 2009, 07:11 PM
How is this helpful?

Because its extremely obvious from the very first 10 words of the first post that the machine is NOT liquid cooled.

IronFixXxeR
Nov 16, 2009, 11:05 AM
I had a similar problem with my G4 Quicksilver. Out of nowhere it was getting random kernal panics.

Reinstalled OS X on a different HDD and solved the problem.

smplorig
Nov 16, 2009, 11:23 AM
well i did i fresh install of an older operating system and its runing fine but i am still getting the problems here and then, im starting to think it was one of the processors because it only happens (funnily enough) and its processing a lot of stuff lol. i know there is a way to disable one processor and let one work i know itwill make it run slower but i want tomake sure that is the problem soi can fix it and so i can run it without shutting down for now. also i need leopard..any one know where i can get it??

AZREOSpecialist
Nov 16, 2009, 11:40 AM
Because its extremely obvious from the very first 10 words of the first post that the machine is NOT liquid cooled.

Really? Like we can all remember what machines Apple made 6 years ago? Not all of us are walking encyclopedias of what machines had what features in what year. I'm just trying to be helpful, since I bought my Mac Pro around the same time, it was liquid cooled and had a problem. My apologies for trying to help. Some of you people are so rude.

300D
Nov 16, 2009, 04:41 PM
Really? Like we can all remember what machines Apple made 6 years ago? I can remember everything since they released the Centris/Quadra line.

Not all of us are walking encyclopedias of what machines had what features in what year.
Have you discovered Googlism yet my child?
http://catherinewhite.files.wordpress.com/2009/07/google-god.jpg

I bought my Mac Pro around the same time, it was liquid cooled and had a problem.
No MacPro had that. The only Macs ever to use liquid cooling were the PowerMac G5 2.5, 2.7 and quad 2.5 models.

smplorig
Nov 17, 2009, 07:54 AM
ok ppl i need help, u guys are talking about being rude and stuff and yet all u are doing is posting crap about how wrong u all are. Would anyone here please be mature enought actually post something that was ment to be written in this thread? like perhaps how to help me with this issue. thank you.

vailance
Nov 17, 2009, 11:58 PM
i had the similar problem, downgrade from leo to tiger , install on other new partition seems fine now.