PDA

View Full Version : My iMac G5 has a Intel Core 2 Duo!




WallpaperPerson
Nov 15, 2009, 03:02 PM
Hey guys, I have a question. On their website, did apple let you change the PowerPC G5 to a Intel Core 2 Duo? Why am I asking? Well, I own a iMac G5 that I got from a friend(after he used to have it) that has a Intel Core 2 Duo in it. He bought online when he first got it in 2005 or 2006. Did they have a option online to change the processor to a Intel?

Thanks,
WallpaperPerson



dukebound85
Nov 15, 2009, 03:04 PM
no, its impossible

flopticalcube
Nov 15, 2009, 03:04 PM
He may have gotten a free (but silent) upgrade from Apple if he bought just when the new ones were announced. C2D iMacs came out in Sept 2006. Just to clarify, they could have shipped him the new one rather than the G5 he thought he was purchasing.

MacMini2009
Nov 15, 2009, 03:04 PM
No, it's just a White iMac with an intel processor.

WallpaperPerson
Nov 15, 2009, 03:06 PM
He may have gotten a free upgrade from Apple if he bought just when the new ones were announced. C2D iMacs came out in Sept 2006.
This one does not have Leopard or a black outline around the screen. It's a iMac G5. I am glad it does and want to know if it had a option online.

No, it's just a White iMac with an intel processor.
It has Tiger.

Techhie
Nov 15, 2009, 03:07 PM
system profile screenie or it didn't happen :rolleyes:

flopticalcube
Nov 15, 2009, 03:07 PM
This one does not have Leopard or a black outline around the screen. It's a iMac G5. I am glad it does and want to know if it had a option online.

Intel iMacs were also white until Aug 2007. What does it say on the back and what does it say in About this Mac...

dukebound85
Nov 15, 2009, 03:08 PM
It has Tiger.

and? tiger was around with intel

WallpaperPerson
Nov 15, 2009, 03:09 PM
It has Tiger.
I'm pretty sure its a iMac g5. But at first, when they lauched the Intel iMac, did it look like a iMac G5 and have Tiger?

dukebound85
Nov 15, 2009, 03:10 PM
I'm pretty sure its a iMac g5. But at first, when they lauched the Intel iMac, did it look like a iMac G5 and have Tiger?

yes

flopticalcube
Nov 15, 2009, 03:10 PM
I'm pretty sure its a iMac g5. But at first, when they lauched the Intel iMac, did it look like a iMac G5 and have Tiger?
Yes. Until Aug 2007 when they went aluminum/black.

MacMini2009
Nov 15, 2009, 03:11 PM
The White iMac G5 and the White Intel iMac look the same but have different insides.

thegoldenmackid
Nov 15, 2009, 03:11 PM
I'm pretty sure its a iMac g5. But at first, when they lauched the Intel iMac, did it look like a iMac G5 and have Tiger?

They looked the same. Congrats on the epic fail.

Sky Blue
Nov 15, 2009, 03:12 PM
My iPhone 3G has a compass and can record video!

chaos86
Nov 15, 2009, 03:18 PM
http://www.apple-history.com/?page=gallery&model=imac_coreduo&sort=family&performa=off&order=ASC


They didn't change the form factor with the switch to intel, they did it a little later.

jaw04005
Nov 15, 2009, 03:34 PM
Production of the white plastic Intel iMac lasted some 18 months after its introduction in January 2006. So, it’s not like it was a rare or short-lived form factor.

300D
Nov 15, 2009, 07:09 PM
You have an Intel iMac. There is no physically possible way to change from a G5 to an Intel processor.

RexTraverse
Nov 15, 2009, 07:17 PM
You have an Intel iMac. There is no physically possible way to change from a G5 to an Intel processor.

Well... if you gutted the G5 iMac and then replaced it with the Intel iMac components, you might. Dimensionally, the Rev.C iSight iMac G5 and the Intel iMacs are pretty similar, although I don't think the rear ports or SuperDrive would line up.

MacHamster68
Nov 15, 2009, 08:38 PM
it is possible ,just look on ebay
there are always a couple iMac G5
with intel processor for sale :D

i even found there the odd iMac G5 running snow leopard :D

greygray
Nov 16, 2009, 12:55 AM
They looked the same. Congrats on the epic fail.

<Claps wildly and cheers until mother comes in.> :D