PDA

View Full Version : Testing: do you test on ALL iphone/itouch models in-house?

speedracer3000
Nov 16, 2009, 04:07 AM
I am new to iphone/itouch development and I am wondering if everyone keeps an inventory of all the hardware models (iphone 2G, 3G, 3GS, iTouch 1st Gen,2nd Gen etc.) in-house for testing purposes? Or is it reasonable to just test on whatever you have and solicit beta testers from the public? Ideally it makes sense to test on all the models, but since the iphone/itouch is a fairly closed system (unlike Android for example), there really isn't a big difference between say for example iphone 2G and 3G to require keeping both (or is there?)

Noisemaker
Nov 16, 2009, 10:46 AM
I am new to iphone/itouch development and I am wondering if everyone keeps an inventory of all the hardware models (iphone 2G, 3G, 3GS, iTouch 1st Gen,2nd Gen etc.) in-house for testing purposes? Or is it reasonable to just test on whatever you have and solicit beta testers from the public? Ideally it makes sense to test on all the models, but since the iphone/itouch is a fairly closed system (unlike Android for example), there really isn't a big difference between say for example iphone 2G and 3G to require keeping both (or is there?)

Obviously, it's better to test on every device that you can. However, with all the devices running the same OS, and being extremely similar to one another, the odds of an app not working across the board are very, very slim. Unless of course it's a more hardware-intensive game, in which case the first generation devices may run it poorly. A prime example of that is Dungeon Hunter on the 1st Gen iPhone and iPod Touch.

neoserver
Nov 16, 2009, 04:47 PM
I test with what I have: an iPhone 3G and a 2nd Gen iPod Touch. I probably don't even need to have the touch, but I think it's good to have a device from each family, but I think having one of each device ever made is going to get pretty expensive...

xsmasher
Nov 16, 2009, 05:32 PM