PDA

View Full Version : Changes to the Apple Education store

johnnyjibbs
Jul 30, 2004, 09:37 AM
Hi there,

Well I bought AirPort Express on the education online store on 13 July and it had a shipping date of August 12th (I should have known demand would be high!).

However, now I can't access the education store because I'm at home and not on my university's network. (I'm still elligable though because I'm still a student, it's just out of term time).

This means I can no longer check the status of my order. The good news, however, is that I've had an email saying it has shipped (on the 27th July) so it should be here early next week.

Note that this is the UK education apple store (I haven't checked the US one) but I'm just warning people that Apple appears to have tightened its act regarding the education store. But this move inconveniences people like me who then can't check the status, etc of the orders. (It also means, my brother will not be able to order his iBook until he has actually arrived and started uni this september - however, hopefully that'll mean he can get an updated one).

Zaty
Jul 30, 2004, 09:52 AM
I just checked the Swiss Edu store. I can access it as always. So either it's only a UK thing, or they just haven't changed access to the Swiss store yet. It would be weird if you had to order within the uni network.

SilentPanda
Jul 30, 2004, 09:53 AM
Weird. The U.S. Apple store works even if you aren't on your college network (I know because my college network is... oh... 5 states away from me!). Usually I check my order by just logging into my account from the normal Apple store (less clicks) but I can also check my order from http://www.apple.com/OrderStaus if I know the order number and my zip code.

I just order an Airport Express this morning and it has a ship date of on or before 8/20. Ah well... I don't really *need* it anyhow... :)

wdlove
Jul 30, 2004, 01:55 PM