PDA

View Full Version : powerbook g4 question

bigrobb
Nov 16, 2009, 04:43 PM
I am needing a cheap laptop basically just for emails, surfing the web, storing photos, maybe a little music, and writing some papers for school. I know somebody that wants to sell me an old powerbook g4 for around the 250.00 range. Its has ilife 09 and microsoft office 08 my question is I am still kinda new to using apple computers was that a pretty good laptop for that price.

MrCheeto
Nov 16, 2009, 04:49 PM
It sounds good, depending on:

A: Condition- Most PowerBooks (unless they are titanium as denoted by a BLACK keyboard) will have dings and bends, some to the point that they may inhibit certain functions of the laptop!

B: Model- They range greatly considering how long that line ran. When you have the opportunity to get the information post the processor speed and any other information. Processor speed will typically look like "1.3ghz"

These are typically GREAT for all that you listed, however one of the only downsides I've spotted in my years of repairing mine and my friends' computers is that the PowerPC line of Macs is inherently naughty when it comes to Flash playback (i.e. Youtube videos) The performance then can be VERY choppy and the computer can become uncomfortably hot because Flash will use the CPU full throttle.

Besides that, these are GREAT machines and I feel they have a number of years ahead of them.

bigrobb
Nov 16, 2009, 08:18 PM
the processor is 1.5ghz, it has 80gb hard drive, 768 mb ram.

MrCheeto
Nov 16, 2009, 08:22 PM
OK if that is the 15 inch model that sounds just fine for your purposes, but as always ask the seller to try it out in person first so that you don't have any surprises ;)

GoCubsGo
Nov 16, 2009, 08:31 PM
Does all of iLife 09 run on a PPC?
Anyway, I'm using one right now and it's prefect for your needs.

MrCheeto
Nov 16, 2009, 09:05 PM
iLife System Requirements

Mac computer with an Intel, PowerPC G5, or PowerPC G4 (867MHz or faster) processor