PDA

View Full Version : Ibook g4: hard Drive noise

CLAUDE
Jul 30, 2004, 07:59 PM
i've been using an ibook g4 for a few months now and over the last week, the hard drive has started making a strange noise: it's a strident sound that one can hear constantly. Very annoying.....does anyone has an idea about what's wrong with the laptop ?

Thanks for your help.

Claude

Elan0204
Jul 30, 2004, 09:02 PM
It's very possible that your hard drive is about to die. I highly recommend making a backup of all your data immediately.

If you have an Apple Store near you talk to the Mac Geniuses their and see what they say about your drive. If they think it's bad they'll send your ibook to Apple for replacement. Note that if you want Apple to move your data to the new drive there will be a $50 charge, so you are much better off making a backup yourself.

Maxx Power
Jul 30, 2004, 10:27 PM
It's very possible that your hard drive is about to die. I highly recommend making a backup of all your data immediately.

If you have an Apple Store near you talk to the Mac Geniuses their and see what they say about your drive. If they think it's bad they'll send your ibook to Apple for replacement. Note that if you want Apple to move your data to the new drive there will be a $50 charge, so you are much better off making a backup yourself.

I remember from the simpsons, when Clancy sees there is a laser dot on Skinner's underwear: "Better get that checked out, my uncle died of crotch dot."

i.e. your hard drive is about to see Binary Jesus and affiliates.
My binary storage device suffered a similar death.

CLAUDE
Jul 31, 2004, 06:19 AM
Well, that's not very good news....guess I better get going with that back up.

Thanks very much for your help.

CLAUDE
Aug 3, 2004, 02:48 PM

Just one more question: how come the hardrive can be damaged after only a few months of use ? Is it software I installed or is it a problem with the build of the computer ?

CLAUDE
Aug 3, 2004, 03:00 PM