PDA

View Full Version : Streaming Audio to iPod?


RDReynolds
Aug 2, 2004, 09:42 AM
Was wondering if anyone knew how to take a streaming audio program, like an internet radio show that's in either Windows Media Player or Real Player, then convert that to something the iPod could play later? It seems that it shouldn't be that hard to do, but I'm too stupid to figure it out...

Thanks,

RD

stoid
Aug 2, 2004, 09:59 AM
Use WireTap (http://www.versiontracker.com/php/search.php?mode=basic&action=search&str=WireTap&plt%5B%5D=macosx&x=13&y=8) to record the audio and put the recorded audio bit onto your iPod. I think that it records to uncompressed AIFF, so you will probably want to compress it to mp3 in iTunes before throwing it on your iPod.

blodwyn
Aug 2, 2004, 11:53 AM
Or use Audio Hijack from http://www.rogueamoeba.com/audiohijack/ Records to all kinds of formats. Not free but works great - I use it to record stuff from the radio. Supports timed recordings too.

RDReynolds
Aug 2, 2004, 12:01 PM
Cool! I will give both a shot.

Thanks!

RD

RDReynolds
Aug 3, 2004, 11:41 AM
Use WireTap (http://www.versiontracker.com/php/search.php?mode=basic&action=search&str=WireTap&plt%5B%5D=macosx&x=13&y=8) to record the audio and put the recorded audio bit onto your iPod. I think that it records to uncompressed AIFF, so you will probably want to compress it to mp3 in iTunes before throwing it on your iPod.

Have you used this? I tried it last night and it did something REALLY bizarre.

I started an hour long internet show, and left to go to dinner. When I came back, the G5's fan sounded like a jet engine ready to take off! Obviously, everything was locked up, so I rebooted. I tried another one, and it locked up about 20 minutes in. Very weird.

At this point, I think I'll give Highjack a go...8)

RD

josepho
Aug 3, 2004, 11:48 AM
Have you used this? I tried it last night and it did something REALLY bizarre.

I started an hour long internet show, and left to go to dinner. When I came back, the G5's fan sounded like a jet engine ready to take off! Obviously, everything was locked up, so I rebooted. I tried another one, and it locked up about 20 minutes in. Very weird.

At this point, I think I'll give Highjack a go...8)

RD

I've used WireTap, and for the odd bit of recording it seems acceptable. However, I have used better programs in the past (unfortunately on Windows), which, for example, would pause the recording if there was no audio output (e.g. if the stream had stopped to buffer), rather than just having dead space. I may end up trying something else (e.g. Highjack), but I use this so infrequently that it probably isn't worth my while.

Cheers!

RDReynolds
Aug 5, 2004, 09:29 AM
I've used WireTap, and for the odd bit of recording it seems acceptable. However, I have used better programs in the past (unfortunately on Windows), which, for example, would pause the recording if there was no audio output (e.g. if the stream had stopped to buffer), rather than just having dead space. I may end up trying something else (e.g. Highjack), but I use this so infrequently that it probably isn't worth my while.

Cheers!


I wound up getting Highjack Pro, and I like it a lot so far. I don't think it has anything that will pause the recording, but I've not run into that yet, so I'm not sure.

RD

blodwyn
Aug 5, 2004, 10:57 AM
Quote
I wound up getting Highjack Pro, and I like it a lot so far. I don't think it has anything that will pause the recording, but I've not run into that yet, so I'm not sure.

RD


There's a silence monitor on the recording tab that may do what you want. Glad you liked it.

gallagb
Aug 5, 2004, 11:22 AM
iRecordMusic

http://www.irecordmusic.net

http://www.bitcartel.com/download.html (to just download it)

allows me to setup events in ical and it will automatically take the machine out of 'sleep' and record the events i want...etc

have been having some issues making it record some types of streaming audio- however- they all worked when i first got the product- so i think i'm doing it wrong- the website says it supports everything (real, windows media, itunes)

it does cost something to register it- but u can use it for free to start w/ and to tinker w/
i find that it works great- runs in the background- doesn't take up much of my processor time...etc