PDA

View Full Version : Can an iPhone 3GS run IM apps even while sleeping?

C'est Moi
Nov 24, 2009, 11:39 AM
Hi!
I'm relatively new to the iPhone market, and, even though it is a powerful phone, I'm only looking to 1) Make calls, 2) Check my email, and 3) Stay online (hopefully) all the time on MSN and AOL applications.

I spoke to a gentleman at an AT&T store, and he said that the phone will indeed run "some" apps while asleep. :confused:

What I'm wondering is, which application to people find to be the best and most effective for chit chatting on MSN & AOL, and can they stay online even while sleeping?

- Thanks so much!

Cask
Nov 24, 2009, 11:49 AM
Try Beejive, it is expensive, but works the best, and push notifications work really good with this one.

Hunts121
Nov 24, 2009, 11:51 AM
Hi!
I'm relatively new to the iPhone market, and, even though it is a powerful phone, I'm only looking to 1) Make calls, 2) Check my email, and 3) Stay online (hopefully) all the time on MSN and AOL applications.

I spoke to a gentleman at an AT&T store, and he said that the phone will indeed run "some" apps while asleep. :confused:

What I'm wondering is, which application to people find to be the best and most effective for chit chatting on MSN & AOL, and can they stay online even while sleeping?

- Thanks so much!

Beejive IM is probably the best, but it does cost money. It allows you to be online for 7 days whether the phone is awake or not. This resets (the 7 day timer) whenever you open it to IM so in effect you can be online at all times. It also features push notifications.

EDIT: looks like someone beat me to it

C'est Moi
Nov 24, 2009, 11:57 AM
Hey thanks guys!

...so with Beejive IM, let's say I sign online, and then put the phone to sleep... if someone is on a computer looking at my name, will it still display as I'm available (away, busy, doesn't really matter what my status is, just that I'm available) and able to receive messages?