PDA

View Full Version : Help please -- running Fender Strat through GarageBand




mikerol
Nov 27, 2009, 09:34 PM
Hello -- I've been reading about this but still confused. Basically, I play acoustic guitar. But, when the kids are sleeping, it's impossible to play. I have a strat that I figured maybe I can run through GarageBand along with headphones and it won't disturb anyone if I'm jacking around learning songs.

Anybody have a clue what I need in order to do this? Don't care about recording. Just want to play and be able to hear what I'm playing in the headphones.

My owner's manual is up in the attic. I have an iMac 2.8, 24 inch -- the headphone jack is farthest to the left. I'm guessing the audio input is the next one over to the right?
thanks
Mike



pkoch1
Nov 28, 2009, 01:12 AM
My owner's manual is up in the attic. I have an iMac 2.8, 24 inch -- the headphone jack is farthest to the left. I'm guessing the audio input is the next one over to the right?

Yep. That's the audio input. All you need is a male 1/8" to female 1/4" adapter. Plug a 1/4" cable from your guitar into the adapter, and you should be good to go.
;)

ChrisA
Nov 28, 2009, 04:32 AM
Yep. That's the audio input. All you need is a male 1/8" to female 1/4" adapter. Plug a 1/4" cable from your guitar into the adapter, and you should be good to go.
;)

Can you really plug an instrument level signal into "Line In"?

What's the input impedance of the line in jack. You need at least 500K ohms so as not to load the guitar. Guitars don't have amps inside.

OK it might work. But stratocasters don't have really hot pickups. To do this "right" you'd want a USB audio interface that has a 1/4" instrument level input. Cost about $100 more or less.

Or you can use this (it's is what I use) and not even bother with the Mac
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/amPlugAC30
This plugs into the guitar's 1/4" jack then you plug headphone into that. It is battery powered so you are not tethered.

carlosbutler
Nov 28, 2009, 05:39 AM
I have plugged in an electric guitar straight into my iMac using a 6.3mm to 3.5mm adapter and that didn't really work. I had to turn up the gain loads and it sounded awful and crackly.

I think you would be better of using a USB thing, or try using a DI box if you have one as thats whats used in studios (and what I have used)

student_trap
Nov 28, 2009, 06:29 AM
Or you can use this (it's is what I use) and not even bother with the Mac
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/amPlugAC30
This plugs into the guitar's 1/4" jack then you plug headphone into that. It is battery powered so you are not tethered.

This is definitely what I would do. it is a lot easier if all you want to do is play (ie. not record)

OllyW
Nov 28, 2009, 06:36 AM
This adaptor (http://store.apple.com/uk/product/T9106VC/A?fnode=MTY1NDA3MA&mco=MTEzMDA5ODY) is cheap and has decent reviews.

pkoch1
Nov 28, 2009, 09:49 AM
Can you really plug an instrument level signal into "Line In"?

What's the input impedance of the line in jack. You need at least 500K ohms so as not to load the guitar. Guitars don't have amps inside.

Yep, it works no problem. Obviously not a good solution for recording, but to just hear back, it works fine.

mikerol
Nov 28, 2009, 08:17 PM
thanks for the help. i'm going to buy one of those istudio link cables and see how it shakes out.
thanks
mike

ChrisA
Nov 28, 2009, 11:00 PM
Yep, it works no problem. Obviously not a good solution for recording, but to just hear back, it works fine.

Are you using "Line In" or "Mic Input"? The iMac has only Line In.