PDA

View Full Version : Concerns with lack of FW on Macbook Pro

AutumnWind
Nov 28, 2009, 04:06 AM
first off, i'd like to say i was quite impressed by the knowledge of many of this forum's residents and value your opinions. my introduction to the forum was the "will logic replace pro tools" thread.

that said, (for those already groaning) it is not my intention to revisit the debate ;). however, i plan to purchase logic studio (9.0, i believe it is now) and took special note of junior's comment on the removal of FW and that USB is not a replacement in the audio world.

if i understand correctly (bear with me, i'm just starting in the field. absolutely clueless), i will need additional hardware to be able to begin composition and recording (other than a mic). if this is not the case, please correct me. if so, and macbooks no longer support FW, what USB hardware do i need to begin the process? is a keyboard necessary? perhaps, a silly question, but again, i have no knowledge at this point. i'm a songwriter and tired of waiting on others to complete a project.

also, if someone wouldn't mind explaining to me what makes FW much better than USB, i would greatly appreciate it :).

Fishrrman
Nov 28, 2009, 09:12 AM
"please correct me. if so, and macbooks no longer support FW, what USB hardware do i need to begin the process? is a keyboard necessary? perhaps, a silly question, but again, i have no knowledge at this point. i'm a songwriter and tired of waiting on others to complete a project."

All MacBook PROS (note emphasis) support firewire.

The entry-level "MacBook" (no "PRO") is USB-only.

If you get a MacBook Pro, your worries are unfounded. They have firewire connectivity and will do what you need.

pkoch1
Nov 28, 2009, 09:47 AM
also, if someone wouldn't mind explaining to me what makes FW much better than USB, i would greatly appreciate it :).