PDA

View Full Version : Compact Flash Card For G4!




Mycatisbigfoot
Nov 28, 2009, 07:09 PM
I have know you can put compact flash cards in older laptops that use IDE, Could I get one that has 2 slots and rads the cards for a regular ide card?

I am just asking



CaptainChunk
Nov 30, 2009, 12:00 AM
I'm not sure if I completely understand your question. But here it goes...

What you're asking has nothing to do with IDE. Older laptops (Mac and PC) used IDE (as opposed to SATA) for hard drives and optical drives - but the expansion slot, if present, is on a totally different bus.

Older laptops that used PCMCIA (32-bit CardBus) slots could read CF cards provided you had a PCMCIA to CF adapter. While CompactFlash is electrically compatible with CardBus, the pin-outs are physically different.

But it's far less trouble to simply use an external USB or FireWire CF card reader instead. What's stopping you from just doing that?

Mycatisbigfoot
Nov 30, 2009, 12:30 AM
OH k,

I have knowen you can get some adaptor to put a Cf card on an ide buss, but I know that there are the master and slave, so I was asking is there a dohickey with 2 card slots ( master and slave)

JesterJJZ
Nov 30, 2009, 01:22 AM
I've only seen stuff like this...

http://www.cyberguys.com/product-details/?productid=32539

http://imagescl.cyberguys.com/images/prod_main/P32539A.jpg

http://www.cyberguys.com/product-details/?productid=24506

http://imagescl.cyberguys.com/images/prod_main/P24506A.jpg

http://www.cyberguys.com/product-details/?productid=24505

http://imagescl.cyberguys.com/images/prod_main/P24505A.jpg

OrangeSVTguy
Nov 30, 2009, 10:07 PM
I like that first one as that looks like it would be a clean installation. I've seen that third one all over ebay and always thought about getting one of those and 2x 16gb/32gb CF high speed cards but I always wondered if the OS would recognize the two cards as individuals or both together as one?

Would make for a quieter/lighter/longer lasting battery for my PB G4. 32/64gb is more than enough for my PB and would be a much cheaper approach than buying a PATA SSD.

Tesselator
Dec 1, 2009, 06:44 AM
Here's mine:

http://tesselator.gpmod.com/Images/_Equipment_n_Tutorials/_RamDrive_Tests/Dual_Card_Drive_01.jpg http://tesselator.gpmod.com/Images/_Equipment_n_Tutorials/_RamDrive_Tests/Dual_Card_Drive_02.jpg http://tesselator.gpmod.com/Images/_Equipment_n_Tutorials/_RamDrive_Tests/Dual_Card_Drive_03_sm.jpg

Price: $5.00

This is meant to fit directly onto the motherboard... no cables.

OrangeSVTguy
Dec 1, 2009, 04:47 PM
Here's mine:

http://tesselator.gpmod.com/Images/_Equipment_n_Tutorials/_RamDrive_Tests/Dual_Card_Drive_01.jpg http://tesselator.gpmod.com/Images/_Equipment_n_Tutorials/_RamDrive_Tests/Dual_Card_Drive_02.jpg
http://tesselator.gpmod.com/Images/_Equipment_n_Tutorials/_RamDrive_Tests/Dual_Card_Drive_03_sm.jpg

Price: $5.00

This is meant to fit directly onto the motherboard... no cables.

Hey Tess, does the OS pick both of them up individually or do you have to RAID0 them?

What's the performance on them and recommended cards?

Oh NM, I forgot the bus will recognize 2 disks anyways. But I wonder about the laptops, like for instance, my PB :D.