PDA

View Full Version : Getting information about local businesses.

tommyc7
Nov 28, 2009, 09:42 PM
Hi, I'm a programmer, but am completely new to iPhone development. I am still learning how the Core Location / GPS development works, but so far have not found the answer to this.

How do apps like Yelp or AroundMe know the Business Name, address and phone number data in the area. Obviously, there's some data store that gets queried, but do they maintain their own database of this information or is there a service that anyone can use to get the same information?

In other words, where do Yelp-like apps get that data?

Thanks!

Darkroom
Nov 29, 2009, 06:16 AM
Hi, I'm a programmer, but am completely new to iPhone development. I am still learning how the Core Location / GPS development works, but so far have not found the answer to this.

How do apps like Yelp or AroundMe know the Business Name, address and phone number data in the area. Obviously, there's some data store that gets queried, but do they maintain their own database of this information or is there a service that anyone can use to get the same information?

In other words, where do Yelp-like apps get that data?

Thanks!

i would assume that most apps just parse xlm data from internet sites, like the yellowpages or google for business directories.

however, it would be possible for them to maintain their own database, but with the sheer number of businesses around the world this is unlikely what they are doing.

tommyc7
Nov 29, 2009, 10:37 AM
Yeah, I wasn't thinking, it was a pretty easy search to find a few web services that seem to do exactly what I asked about. It seems as though I can use the Core Location APIs to get the coordinates then use, I guess, an HTTP request to one of these services to get the rest of the data.

Is that common of iPhone apps to make web service requests like that behind the scenes?

Darkroom
Nov 29, 2009, 11:58 AM