PDA

View Full Version : Help me decide on how to upgrade from my 1.0 GHz PowerBook G4 Titanium

agmetal
Nov 28, 2009, 11:48 PM
Yes, you read that right...I'm still using a 6-year-old laptop as my main/only computer.

My parents are offering to help me buy a new computer, and have said they'll put in as much as it would cost to get a base-model 13" MacBook, and then whatever I want beyond that, I have to cover the difference. Since I need FireWire, I need to go with at least a 13" MBP if I want a current laptop.

Obviously, anything I get will be a significant upgrade from what I'm used to, especially since I'm still running the stock 512MB RAM in my PowerBook, so I'm not gonna be picky about small differences in speed, but I have some questions about what's best for my needs.

As a musician, I do a bit of recording using MOTU Digital Performer 5, and occasionally Logic Express 7. I also use Reason as a softsynth, and sometimes use Finale for composition. I do some basic photo editing in Photoshop (mostly just stuff like making flyers for my band's shows), and otherwise it's pretty much just used for the internet, watching DVDs, and listening to music.

Portability would be nice, but I've realized that, for the most part, I treat my PowerBook like a desktop most of the time...that is, I don't take it with me very often, and when I do, it's usually on longer trips so that I can do stuff online and listen to music on my own computer...although, occasionally I'll take it with me to friends' places, but not very often at all. I'm no longer in school, and even when I was, I didn't take it to class very often.