PDA

View Full Version : Automatically calling a method

hervey
Nov 29, 2009, 09:30 PM
At startup my TabBarController loads a NavigationController, which has a date picker. This picker is animated up and down by two methods (pickerUp, pickerDown). All this and the formatter are functioning well.

It would be better for the user if the picker was onscreen at startup. Using the pickerUp method - called automatically on loading - would be a good solution.

I'm new to cocoa and could use some guidance.

ApplEngineer
Nov 29, 2009, 09:45 PM
You can place the method within a method that's called when the view is loaded. You can uncomment the method called viewDidLoad within your view controller and place it there. Once that specific view controller is loaded this method is called and will then call whatever method you placed inside.

Hope this makes sense.

Example:

- (void)viewDidLoad {
[super viewDidLoad];
// Place the method you want called here

[self myMethod];
}

hervey
Nov 30, 2009, 08:07 PM
Thanks for your reply, I hope you can still help me understand how to call this method.

I have tried the following (separately) - none of the three would allow the program to launch. The method I'm trying to call is at the bottom. I could cut and paste the code here, but it's a lot of code (to me) and would require some scrolling.

Reading the docs, viewDidLoad seemed the logical choice, but I'm unable to write it correctly. I did get the picker up at launch using the applicationDidFinishlauncing method, but it duplicated the picker and I couldn't connect it to the pickerDown or formatter methods.

- (void)viewDidLoad {
[super viewDidLoad];
1. [self pickerUp];
2. [self pickerUp:];
3. [self pickerUp:(id)sender];
}

- (IBAction)pickerUp:(id)sender { }

kainjow
Nov 30, 2009, 08:58 PM
Try
[self pickerUp:nil];

hervey
Dec 1, 2009, 07:35 PM
Yes!