PDA

View Full Version : My App was pirated - what should i do?

v-i-c-
Dec 2, 2009, 07:51 PM
One week after it hit the App Store, i found links to illegal copies of my first iPhone App. :(

I have no experience with this kind of thing.
I know i can't prevent it anymore (now that it's circulating), but maybe someone knows how to make it more difficult for them next time? I have another project in the works that I've invested over 10 months hard work, and I rather not have this happen again, if there is a way to prevent it.

I did ask the host to remove the links from his site, but it's probably on 10 other sites by now. Ideas?

I'm a bit amazed they'd bother to pirate a $.99 cent app, but I guess that's the world we live in :(

drf1229
Dec 2, 2009, 08:05 PM
Unfortionately, when you have a paid app thats just bound to happen. I don't think there is any stopping it. Even the smartest developer can't outsmart the dumbest criminal. (If that makes any sense :))

fishkorp
Dec 2, 2009, 08:38 PM
There are ways of detecting pirated apps and making them not function, many app developers do that. The pirates have pretty much given up on Beejive because of this. However, all the good ones don't share their methods or secrets, otherwise the crackers would find a way around the protection. You can get some basic things to try by just Googling around.

kAoTiX
Dec 3, 2009, 04:10 AM
I use Beejive illegally, no point beating around the bush.

I don't think you can do anything to stop people pirating your apps. Nothing is unbeatable and in all honesty spending any amount of time trying to stop it is wasted time.
Things like Windows and major games with 'serious' protection get cracked over night and these developers spend months creating this type of protection.