PDA

View Full Version : Replacement for Volume Logic




davidlv
Dec 4, 2009, 02:48 AM
Hi, new to this forum, so hi everyone.
Back when we were all running Panther and then Tiger, I bought an application called Volume Logic (no longer available from the publisher) that processes music in iTunes real-time. There was a hack using a component of iWow to get the app working under Leopard, and that worked fine, but the introduction of Snow Leopard zapped that. I am not a professional musician nor do I work in a music studio and I have a limited budget for speakers, etc. So I found Volume Logic great in combination with my low-cost sub-woofer and satellite speakers. Is there a comparative Snow Leopard compatible software available?
Or a workaround to get olume Logic working under SL?
:apple::cool::apple:



deej999
Dec 4, 2009, 04:10 AM
what do you mean it 'processes music realtime in itunes'?

Can you use Garageband to process / add effects etc to music in a similar way?

deej

davidlv
Dec 4, 2009, 08:21 PM
I mean the application processes the audio output from iTunes to the speakers/headphones in real time, doing compression and filtering. I am not sure about the technical aspect in any depth, but to my ears the resulting sound is very good, you can actually hear everything, breath taken in, strings vibrating etc, just as you would in a good studio or excellently produced CD.
So your reference to GB is not relevant. :D

carlos4391
Jan 10, 2010, 03:23 PM
I've been looking for a replacement for volume logic too. It was one of my favorite apps and when I upgraded to snow leopard the window would show up but it wasn't working :mad:

Luap
Jan 10, 2010, 05:39 PM
http://machinecodex.com/neutrino/index.php
Something like that maybe? This doesn't work with iTunes as such though. It's an alternative player. But it does work from your existing library and playlists etc. Plus it can use a multitude of AU plugins for various effects.
Has some other nifty features too.
Not free, but neither is it expensive :) And you get a 30 day trial.

I used a much older version of this some time ago, and it was pretty cool. I've not tried this latest one though..

Powerbooky
Apr 17, 2010, 09:16 AM
VolumeLogic (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volume_Logic) works perfectly on Snow Leopard. You do need to update some stuff first though:

Download version 1.3.2L (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/13252/volume-logic) first.

Also see the following, copied from this webpage (http://veerle.duoh.com/blog/comments/no_more_volume_logic/).


Quit iTunes
Download iWOW (updated for Leopard) Demo and install
Quit iTunes or dont start iTunes....
Drag the iWOW plugin out of /Library/Audio/Plug-ins/HAL/ to the desktop
Ctrl Click iWOW plugin (show package contents)
Goto Contents/MacOS/ (you should see iTea.)
Ctrl Click VolumeLogic plugin (show package contents)
Goto Contents/MacOS/ (you should see iTea.)
Replace the iTea located in the Volume Logic plugin with the one from iWOW on the desktop.
Download the Latest eSR SDK
Mount the eSellerate Embedded SDK and look in the "eSellerate Libs" folder for "EWSMacCompress.tar.gz"
Go to /Library/Audio/Plug-ins/HAL/VolumeLogic.plugin
Ctrl click and choose "Show Package contents" and open the folder "Resources"
Replace the "EWSMacCompress.tar.gz" with the one from the eSR SDK dmg you just mounted


What I'd like to see though is an equivalent of VolumeLogic that works on iPod Touch (or iPhone).

starbai
Aug 23, 2010, 04:00 PM
VolumeLogic (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volume_Logic) works perfectly on Snow Leopard. You do need to update some stuff first though:

Download version 1.3.2L (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/13252/volume-logic) first.

Also see the following, copied from this webpage (http://veerle.duoh.com/blog/comments/no_more_volume_logic/).


Quit iTunes
Download iWOW (updated for Leopard) Demo and install
Quit iTunes or dont start iTunes....
Drag the iWOW plugin out of /Library/Audio/Plug-ins/HAL/ to the desktop
Ctrl Click iWOW plugin (show package contents)
Goto Contents/MacOS/ (you should see iTea.)
Ctrl Click VolumeLogic plugin (show package contents)
Goto Contents/MacOS/ (you should see iTea.)
Replace the iTea located in the Volume Logic plugin with the one from iWOW on the desktop.
Download the Latest eSR SDK
Mount the eSellerate Embedded SDK and look in the "eSellerate Libs" folder for "EWSMacCompress.tar.gz"
Go to /Library/Audio/Plug-ins/HAL/VolumeLogic.plugin
Ctrl click and choose "Show Package contents" and open the folder "Resources"
Replace the "EWSMacCompress.tar.gz" with the one from the eSR SDK dmg you just mounted


What I'd like to see though is an equivalent of VolumeLogic that works on iPod Touch (or iPhone).

Can anyone help me figure out where to download the latest 'eSR SDK' from?

I'm googling it but coming up empty handed since I dont really know what the heck it is... I'm just trying to get VolumeLogic to work

davidlv
Aug 23, 2010, 07:07 PM
VolumeLogic (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volume_Logic) works perfectly on Snow Leopard. You do need to update some stuff first though:
Download version 1.3.2L (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/13252/volume-logic) first.
Also see the following, copied from this webpage (http://veerle.duoh.com/blog/comments/no_more_volume_logic/).


Quit iTunes
Download iWOW (updated for Leopard) Demo and install
Quit iTunes or dont start iTunes....
Drag the iWOW plugin out of /Library/Audio/Plug-ins/HAL/ to the desktop
Ctrl Click iWOW plugin (show package contents)
Goto Contents/MacOS/ (you should see iTea.)
Ctrl Click VolumeLogic plugin (show package contents)
Goto Contents/MacOS/ (you should see iTea.)
Replace the iTea located in the Volume Logic plugin with the one from iWOW on the desktop.
Download the Latest eSR SDK
Mount the eSellerate Embedded SDK and look in the "eSellerate Libs" folder for "EWSMacCompress.tar.gz"
Go to /Library/Audio/Plug-ins/HAL/VolumeLogic.plugin
Ctrl click and choose "Show Package contents" and open the folder "Resources"
Replace the "EWSMacCompress.tar.gz" with the one from the eSR SDK dmg you just mounted

Great news. I tried to follow your instructions but ran into a problem, see below. BTW, the link above is broken, not really need, as your instructions are so good, but downloading the latest eSR SDK is not so simple. They require a website to sign up and I don't have one. Could you provide a link to the EWSMacCompress.tar.gz required without any hassle?
Thanks

davidlv
Aug 25, 2010, 11:05 AM
I got VL working on SL! Thanks to Powerbooky for the hints and instructions.
In retrospec, I found the SDK file required through a google search, not from the developer'S HP, another site, straight download.
Then I had to bring over the esllerate and VL prefs from a previous Leopard installation, in order to get it working.
Thanks again Powerbooky for the info!
Much obliged. :cool::D:cool:

davidlv
Aug 26, 2010, 09:19 AM
Can anyone help me figure out where to download the latest 'eSR SDK' from?

I'm googling it but coming up empty handed since I dont really know what the heck it is... I'm just trying to get VolumeLogic to work

Do a Google search on "eSellerate Embedded SDK" and find one that is a direct link, not the developer's site. I noticed one on the first page and it worked even though it is from 2008!

See my note about bringing in preferences and the old esellerate folder from a leopard installation, the esellerate confirmation hangs the first time you open iTunes, and you have to do a Option-Command-Esc to force quit it. Then running iTunes again brought up a different dialog box, clicked Yes/OK and it worked.

Since the product is discontinued, esellerate has a special way of handling the product I assume. Anyway I have reinstalled it several times running Leopard and now once running SL. So keep trying, it can be done.:cool:

mbnt
Sep 26, 2010, 05:04 PM
I have a beta of 10.6.5 installed, along with iTunes 10.0.1, and have come up with a very easy way to get VolumeLogic installed and running in no time!

Make sure iTunes is not running before proceeding!

• Download the latest version of VolumeLogic here: http://bit.ly/c76nni

• Unzip and move the plug-in to "Macintosh HD/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL."

• Repair permissions with Disk Utility.

• Afterwards, download the latest eSellerate engine (v4.0 at the time of this writing) here:

http://shopper.esellerate.net/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=5620 (The Mac v. should be the very first one in the list.)

• After it's installed, launch iTunes. VolumeLogic will say there's a product activation error, do you want to ty activating again? Click on Activate (or OK) and boom! Instant registration! No serial number, Terminal hacks, or poking into package contents.

Hope someone finds this very helpful! I've been using VL on both Windows and Mac for years! Greatest audio plug-in ever!

bladerunner1948
Dec 29, 2010, 07:25 AM
Absolutely perfect. Activation initially failed but then entered my serial number and everything works. Music back to sounding fantastic. I've so missed Volume Logic!!

Done on OSX 10.6.5 and iTunes 10.1

Thanks for the tip.

JayV
Mar 17, 2011, 07:37 PM
Hi, is there someone out there that does not use Volume Logic anymore and wants to sell their serial #? I just discovered the plugin a few weeks ago and can't find a place to buy a serial number.

Thanks!

Mars2002
Dec 1, 2012, 07:17 AM
I've never thanked Powerbooky for this information! It worked fine. Apple managed to block it again in iTunes 11.... Have you/has anybody figured out a way to get back to working again?

----------

Hi, is there someone out there that does not use Volume Logic anymore and wants to sell their serial #? I just discovered the plugin a few weeks ago and can't find a place to buy a serial number.

Thanks!

mbnt
Dec 1, 2012, 12:00 PM
VolumeLogic was a 32-bit plug-in. iTunes 11 is now fully a 64-bit program, so it's no longer going to work.

I haven’t used VL in a long time, but it was GREAT while it lasted.

PS. Apple doesn’t purposefully “block” anything, it’s just improving technology. I’m really impressed with the sound iTunes 11 produces, music sounds way better.

Powerbooky
Dec 2, 2012, 06:07 PM
We should all persuade Leif Claesson (http://www.claessonedwards.com) to create a new VolumeLogic for OS-X.
For iTunes (or OS-X system wide) there's no other plugin that does a very good volume leveling as VolumeLogic does. And its price-tag was very reasonable too. Claesson currently only works on software for crappy Windows. :(

Meanwhile I'll stay with the old iTunes 10.7

mbnt
Dec 2, 2012, 06:47 PM
We should all persuade Leif Claesson (http://www.claessonedwards.com) to create a new VolumeLogic for OS-X.
For iTunes (or OS-X system wide) there's no other plugin that does a very good volume leveling as VolumeLogic does. And its price-tag was very reasonable too. Claesson currently only works on software for crappy Windows. :(

Meanwhile I'll stay with the old iTunes 10.7

Great idea, I'm going to do that right now. :D

fixmymac
Dec 5, 2012, 12:15 PM
We should all persuade Leif Claesson (http://www.claessonedwards.com) to create a new VolumeLogic for OS-X.
For iTunes (or OS-X system wide) there's no other plugin that does a very good volume leveling as VolumeLogic does. And its price-tag was very reasonable too. Claesson currently only works on software for crappy Windows. :(

Meanwhile I'll stay with the old iTunes 10.7

I have VolumeLogic working with iTunes 11.

fixmymac
Dec 5, 2012, 12:19 PM
VolumeLogic was a 32-bit plug-in. iTunes 11 is now fully a 64-bit program, so it's no longer going to work.

I haven’t used VL in a long time, but it was GREAT while it lasted.

PS. Apple doesn’t purposefully “block” anything, it’s just improving technology. I’m really impressed with the sound iTunes 11 produces, music sounds way better.

I have VolumeLogic working with iTunes 11.

----------

I've never thanked Powerbooky for this information! It worked fine. Apple managed to block it again in iTunes 11.... Have you/has anybody figured out a way to get back to working again?

----------



I have VolumeLogic working with iTunes 11.

mbnt
Dec 5, 2012, 12:24 PM
You going to share with us or…?

fixmymac
Dec 5, 2012, 12:38 PM
You going to share with us or…?

My pleasure...

I have attached the iTea file from the very latest version of SRS iWow. All you need to do is replace the iTea file within the VolumeLogic.plugin with this newer version and then set iTunes to open in 32-bit mode.

To find your existing iTea file, do the following...

Go to MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL. Your VolumeLogic.plugin file should be there. Right-click on it and select 'Show Package Contents'. Go to Contents/MacOS and you should see the iTea file.

Drag the attached iTea into the MacOS folder and authenticate to replace the existing one.

Let me know if this makes your day ;-)

PS. iTunes crashes if you try to run it in 32-bit mode with the old iTea file in place. Once the new iTea file is in place, iTunes will crash if you try to run it in 64-bit mode!!! However, VolumeLogic works... so who gives a damn??

mbnt
Dec 5, 2012, 01:01 PM
My pleasure...

I have attached the iTea file from the very latest version of SRS iWow. All you need to do is replace the iTea file within the VolumeLogic.plugin with this newer version and then set iTunes to open in 32-bit mode.

To find your existing iTea file, do the following...

Go to MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL. Your VolumeLogic.plugin file should be there. Right-click on it and select 'Show Package Contents'. Go to Contents/MacOS and you should see the iTea file.

Drag the attached iTea into the MacOS folder and authenticate to replace the existing one.

Let me know if this makes your day ;-)

PS. iTunes crashes if you try to run it in 32-bit mode with the old iTea file in place. Once the new iTea file is in place, iTunes will crash if you try to run it in 64-bit mode!!! However, VolumeLogic works... so who gives a damn??

I hope this makes a lot of someone's-es(lol) day. I've been using Decibel for a long time now. I don't even have my serial number to VL anymore, let alone the installer. People here might, because it's my # I gave out.

It still would be nice to have a native, 64-bit v. Why they stopped devving VL is way beyond me. :/

Thanks for sharing. If you still have the VL I originally uploaded, I'd love to have it back to try this out, hehe.

fixmymac
Dec 5, 2012, 01:11 PM
I hope this makes a lot of someone's-es(lol) day. I've been using Decibel for a long time now. I don't even have my serial number to VL anymore, let alone the installer. People here might, because it's my # I gave out.

It still would be nice to have a native, 64-bit v. Why they stopped devving VL is way beyond me. :/

Thanks for sharing. If you still have the VL I originally uploaded, I'd love to have it back to try this out, hehe.

Finding the installer for VL is easy. However, you need to perform some trickery to get it to accept a serial number. But you can run it in trial mode to re-live old times.

mbnt
Dec 5, 2012, 01:20 PM
Finding the installer for VL is easy. However, you need to perform some trickery to get it to accept a serial number. But you can run it in trial mode to re-live old times.

Okay, thankfully in my website backup, the archive I uploaded was still in there.

Yes, it works, yay!

I still like my Decibel, though, hehehe.

Good find, fixmymac! ;D

willduo
Dec 16, 2012, 09:41 AM
Thank you Fixmymac for the Volume Logic fix - music sound through iTunes now fixed;)

cheekypaul
Dec 18, 2012, 05:30 AM
Hi, new to this forum, so hi everyone.
Back when we were all running Panther and then Tiger, I bought an application called Volume Logic (no longer available from the publisher) that processes music in iTunes real-time. There was a hack using a component of iWow to get the app working under Leopard, and that worked fine, but the introduction of Snow Leopard zapped that. I am not a professional musician nor do I work in a music studio and I have a limited budget for speakers, etc. So I found Volume Logic great in combination with my low-cost sub-woofer and satellite speakers. Is there a comparative Snow Leopard compatible software available?
Or a workaround to get olume Logic working under SL?
:apple::cool::apple:


you can also use something like audiohijack and monitor the sound through any number of volume logic type plug ins, like multiband compression. or go crazy with reverb and flange!
but the replies above me are also great solutions.

fabricepsb
Jan 6, 2013, 09:23 AM
My pleasure...

I have attached the iTea file from the very latest version of SRS iWow. All you need to do is replace the iTea file within the VolumeLogic.plugin with this newer version and then set iTunes to open in 32-bit mode.

To find your existing iTea file, do the following...

Go to MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL. Your VolumeLogic.plugin file should be there. Right-click on it and select 'Show Package Contents'. Go to Contents/MacOS and you should see the iTea file.

Drag the attached iTea into the MacOS folder and authenticate to replace the existing one.

Let me know if this makes your day ;-)

PS. iTunes crashes if you try to run it in 32-bit mode with the old iTea file in place. Once the new iTea file is in place, iTunes will crash if you try to run it in 64-bit mode!!! However, VolumeLogic works... so who gives a damn??
GREAT :):):)
Thank you fixmymac : I used VL with iTunes 11 (32 bits) and Volume Logic with Snow Leopard. Yesterday i decided to install Mac OS Lion and of course VL couldn't work until your very precious help.
Sorry for my bad english and thank you again : Last night fixmymac saved my music :D:D:D

I have a question : when i buy a new mac, will it go on working in Mountain Lion ?
Can iTunes 11 work on a 32 bits mode ?

Lovely T
Jan 7, 2013, 09:20 AM
Hello there

I've tried to re-install VL but I've got the message "This installer requires admin privileges to run" but I'm the admin on my computer. (OS 10.8)

Anybody can help me please ?

I really miss VL

Thanks in advance

fixmymac
Jan 15, 2013, 04:24 PM
Hello there

I've tried to re-install VL but I've got the message "This installer requires admin privileges to run" but I'm the admin on my computer. (OS 10.8)

Anybody can help me please ?

I really miss VL

Thanks in advance

Hi,

Try right-clicking on the installer package and selecting 'Show Package Contents'. Somewhere within the folder structure you will find the 'VolumeLogic.plugin' file. Move this file to Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Plug-Ins>HAL.

Set iTunes to open in 32-bit mode and then launch it.

You may hit problems with activation.

----------

GREAT :):):)
Thank you fixmymac : I used VL with iTunes 11 (32 bits) and Volume Logic with Snow Leopard. Yesterday i decided to install Mac OS Lion and of course VL couldn't work until your very precious help.
Sorry for my bad english and thank you again : Last night fixmymac saved my music :D:D:D

I have a question : when i buy a new mac, will it go on working in Mountain Lion ?
Can iTunes 11 work on a 32 bits mode ?

Hi,

iTunes 11 can still be run in 32-bit mode in Mountain Lion and VL works fine if you follow my guide.

fabricepsb
Jan 16, 2013, 02:14 PM
Hi,

Try right-clicking on the installer package and selecting 'Show Package Contents'. Somewhere within the folder structure you will find the 'VolumeLogic.plugin' file. Move this file to Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Plug-Ins>HAL.

Set iTunes to open in 32-bit mode and then launch it.

You may hit problems with activation.

----------



Hi,

iTunes 11 can still be run in 32-bit mode in Mountain Lion and VL works fine if you follow my guide.

Thank you fixmymac, i am happy that VL still works in ML for my next purchase of a new iMac

fixmymac
Sep 18, 2013, 12:06 PM
Hi,

The latest 10.9 Mavericks Developer Preview included the iTunes update that has been released today. 32-bit mode is no longer possible, despite being there in the Get Info window. iTunes insists on 64-bit mode to launch.

VL no longer works :-(

angelsevov
Oct 10, 2013, 06:11 AM
i just saw it. ******* it says To run iTunes in 64-bit mode, select the iTunes application in the Finder, choose the “Get Info” command in the File menu, and uncheck the “Open in 32-bit mode” checkbox in the iTunes Info window.

no more Volume Logic :( i need a replacment for this plug in :(

ConstantineV
Oct 25, 2013, 06:56 AM
i just saw it. ******* it says To run iTunes in 64-bit mode, select the iTunes application in the Finder, choose the “Get Info” command in the File menu, and uncheck the “Open in 32-bit mode” checkbox in the iTunes Info window.

no more Volume Logic :( i need a replacment for this plug in :(

Hi to all Volume Logic connoisseurs out there,

If you, like me, have been using Volume Logic to compress iTunes audio for years and cannot do without it, here is a good solution to get it back and running in 64-bit iTunes on Mavericks 10.9:

1) Run Audio Hijack Pro and select iTunes as the source input application in the left-hand side of the main window.
2) In the AHP pull-down menu, select About Plugins
3) In the window that pops-up, select Load and navigate to where the VolumeLogic plugin resides, that would be HD>Library>Audio>Plugins>HAL>VolumeLogic. Do not worry about loading the iTea resource file manually, it will load up automatically, you do not have to do Show Package Contents to resolve this. Just select VL from where it lives in the plugins folder and move on to the next step.
4) Go back to AHP and in the main window select an empty effects slot, in the pull-down sub-menu that appears simply select iTea effect>Volume Logic.
5) Hit hijack in AHP and enjoy Volume Logic again, in Mavericks.

Hope this helps, I cannot live without Volume Logic in iTunes, simply the best audio plugin ever developed for iTunes.

cheers,

Constantine

fabricepsb
Oct 29, 2013, 03:34 PM
hi to all volume logic connoisseurs out there,

if you, like me, have been using volume logic to compress itunes audio for years and cannot do without it, here is a good solution to get it back and running in 64-bit itunes on mavericks 10.9:

1) run audio hijack pro and select itunes as the source input application in the left-hand side of the main window.
2) in the ahp pull-down menu, select about plugins
3) in the window that pops-up, select load and navigate to where the volumelogic plugin resides, that would be hd>library>audio>plugins>hal>volumelogic. Do not worry about loading the itea resource file manually, it will load up automatically, you do not have to do show package contents to resolve this. Just select vl from where it lives in the plugins folder and move on to the next step.
4) go back to ahp and in the main window select an empty effects slot, in the pull-down sub-menu that appears simply select itea effect>volume logic.
5) hit hijack in ahp and enjoy volume logic again, in mavericks.

Hope this helps, i cannot live without volume logic in itunes, simply the best audio plugin ever developed for itunes.

Cheers,

constantine

thank you constantine, it works :):):)

angelsevov
Feb 15, 2014, 09:02 PM
Hi to all Volume Logic connoisseurs out there,

If you, like me, have been using Volume Logic to compress iTunes audio for years and cannot do without it, here is a good solution to get it back and running in 64-bit iTunes on Mavericks 10.9:

1) Run Audio Hijack Pro and select iTunes as the source input application in the left-hand side of the main window.
2) In the AHP pull-down menu, select About Plugins
3) In the window that pops-up, select Load and navigate to where the VolumeLogic plugin resides, that would be HD>Library>Audio>Plugins>HAL>VolumeLogic. Do not worry about loading the iTea resource file manually, it will load up automatically, you do not have to do Show Package Contents to resolve this. Just select VL from where it lives in the plugins folder and move on to the next step.
4) Go back to AHP and in the main window select an empty effects slot, in the pull-down sub-menu that appears simply select iTea effect>Volume Logic.
5) Hit hijack in AHP and enjoy Volume Logic again, in Mavericks.

Hope this helps, I cannot live without Volume Logic in iTunes, simply the best audio plugin ever developed for iTunes.

cheers,

Constantine

THANK U :) u are great

godzfire
Mar 6, 2014, 11:58 PM
I also came here just to say 'THANK YOU' for discovering this method. Ironically enough, I use Audio Hijack Pro anyway to record a radio show I listen to. One less obstacle before updating 10.9.

By the way, the original creator of Volume Logic, Claesson Edwards, created essentially a sequel/successor plugin to it called BreakAway Audio (http://www.claessonedwards.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=46&Itemid=135). Unfortunately, it's Windows only, despite many people's requests to see it ported. :-(

DracoDWS
May 6, 2014, 07:24 PM
I just came across this page after looking in my Serial Numbers folder at all my old stuff. I found my Volume Logic serial and it looks like people have been getting it to work in 10.9 Maverics and iTunes 11?

Does anyone have a link to the last available version of the plugin?

fabricepsb
May 24, 2014, 05:55 AM
I just came across this page after looking in my Serial Numbers folder at all my old stuff. I found my Volume Logic serial and it looks like people have been getting it to work in 10.9 Maverics and iTunes 11?

Does anyone have a link to the last available version of the plugin?

this is the last version i Use in 10.9.3 Maverics and iTunes 11.2.1 and it works perfectly.
I recommend you to use Audio highjack Pro 2.10.10 (the all new last version),

And don't forget to apply Constantine's help :

f you, like me, have been using Volume Logic to compress iTunes audio for years and cannot do without it, here is a good solution to get it back and running in 64-bit iTunes on Mavericks 10.9:

1) Run Audio Hijack Pro and select iTunes as the source input application in the left-hand side of the main window.
2) In the AHP pull-down menu, select About Plugins
3) In the window that pops-up, select Load and navigate to where the VolumeLogic plugin resides, that would be HD>Library>Audio>Plugins>HAL>VolumeLogic. Do not worry about loading the iTea resource file manually, it will load up automatically, you do not have to do Show Package Contents to resolve this. Just select VL from where it lives in the plugins folder and move on to the next step.
4) Go back to AHP and in the main window select an empty effects slot, in the pull-down sub-menu that appears simply select iTea effect>Volume Logic.
5) Hit hijack in AHP and enjoy Volume Logic again, in Mavericks.