Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hervey

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 23, 2009
Three methods are called by a single UIButton, methods:A, B, and C. A is called on touchDown, B and C on touchUpInside. A is calculations used in method B, C pushes another viewController onto screen, displaying A and B's calculations. Everything works individually and sometimes together.

What are some strategies to make the sequence more reliable. NSTimer is possible but seems like a lot of code when I already have to much code.

I am new to Cocoa and would appreciate any direction.

chbeer

macrumors member
Sep 22, 2008
Berlin
Can you explain why you are doing it so complicated? Why not simply do everything in one method?

drf1229

macrumors regular
Jun 22, 2009
I think you need to look into NSTimer. An example looks like this:
Code:
NSTimer *t=[NSTimer scheduledTimerWithTimeInterval:0.03 target:self selector:@selector(onTimer) userInfo:nil repeats:YES];

[t fire] //Starts the timer
//And the method...
-(void)onTimer{
//The function

[t invalidate] //Stops the timer...
}

dejo

Moderator emeritus
Sep 2, 2004
The Centennial State
I think you need to look into NSTimer.
I think chbeer has it right. It all sounds over-complicated. Have touchUpInside call one method, which can then go ahead and call the other three. Something like this:
Code:
- (IBAction)buttonClicked:(id)sender {
    [self A];
    [self B];
    [self C];
}

drf1229

macrumors regular
Jun 22, 2009
I think chbeer has it right. It all sounds over-complicated. Have touchUpInside call one method, which can then go ahead and call the other three. Something like this:
Code:
- (IBAction)buttonClicked:(id)sender {
    [self A];
    [self B];
    [self C];
}