PDA

View Full Version : Refreshing drill down menu




chainprayer
Dec 6, 2009, 10:22 AM
Please forgive me if my terminology is way off... I'm only a few days into iPhone programming...

I'm working on a program based on the SimpleDrillDown template from Apple. For each screen that is selected I am trying to make random text appear. I am able to get random text to show, but when I go back to the plays screen and select the same category the random integer that is chosen is fixed until I relaunch the app. Can I force the random selection to run again?

I'm using the following code in DataController.m...

NSString * joke;
srand ( time(NULL) );
iRandom = rand() % 3 + 1;
if (iRandom == 1) { textToDisplay = @"one"; }
if (iRandom == 2) { textToDisplay = @"two"; }
if (iRandom == 3) { textToDisplay = @"three"; }

Thank you for your help! I'm excited to work in the world of iPhone programming!



dejo
Dec 6, 2009, 12:49 PM
In which method does this code reside?

chainprayer
Dec 6, 2009, 03:51 PM
The code is in DataController.h under data management

dejo
Dec 6, 2009, 06:57 PM
The code is in DataController.h under data management
Doubtful. .h files don't normally contain method execution code, just declarations. Also, you still haven't answered the question: in which method does this code reside?