PDA

View Full Version : Pathetic newbie with G4 Quicksilver upgrade questions

elvirav
Dec 7, 2009, 08:30 AM
I am not new to Macs (it's almost been ten years!) but I am new to doing the upgrading myself. Except for adding some RAM, I have always stayed away from upgrading since it terrified me. (I was always worried that I'd break something.)

Well, I picked up an old Quicksilver G4 (867 MHz) on eBay, and I'm going to be brave and upgrade the thing. I'm not afraid to upgrade the RAM, but it's the hard drives and to a lesser extent, PCI cards which are new territory. I have done some extensive Google searching, but would appreciate some comforting words and advice from other Mac people.

Okay, so I went a little crazy and got several hard drives and PCI cards.

I got a PCI USB 2.0 card from Otherworld Computing ( http://www.macsales.com ). I saw a video tutorial they had on adding a PCI card, and I think it doesn't look too difficult.

Also, got the ATI Radeon 7000 64MB PCI Video Card. (I want to connect to a DVI monitor.) Should there be anything I should know about this? Is it just a matter of sticking it in the PCI slot and putting the screws in the right place?