Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Thussy

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 19, 2004
I'm new to OS X, and i'm just learning still... and I LOVE IT.

Konfabulator is the coolest program in the world btw.

Anywho, I can't figurte out how to arrange icons neatly. It seems that as i drag new programs in the more messy it gets.. with icons overlapping and such.

I'ts probably somethign really easy, but I can't figure it out!

Rob587

macrumors 6502a
Jul 4, 2004
Orlando, FL
Im not a Mac user(yet) so I cant help you out with your question, but I have a question for you about your signature. If it says 15" pb soon how are you having a problem with OS X. lol.... sorry I always point stupid things out. :rolleyes:

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
Andover, MA
Don't know if this is what you mean, but:

With the Finder on top (i.e., the top left-hand of the menu bar says "Finder"), go to View->Show View Options, or just hit ⌘-J.

You'll see options there to arrange icons however you want.

Thussy

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 19, 2004
I haven't updated it.. i will right now.

And yes that's what I was wondering.. thanks!

yellow

Moderator emeritus
Oct 21, 2003
Portland, OR
If you're viewing your directories as icons only, use Finder -> View -> Clean Up to rearrange them so they aren't overlapping. But you should get used to list or column view. Much more versitile and easy to find things.

Gherkin

macrumors 6502a
Apr 9, 2004
How do you arrange icons on the desktop?

Also, is there a keyboard shortcut to jump directly to System Preferences?

jsalzer

macrumors 6502a
Jan 18, 2004
Why won't my HD icon stay still on desktop?

Well, as long as this thread is here and the original has been answered, I'm going to ask a dumb question. In OSX, I find that my "Macintosh HD" icon won't stay in what has always been its home - in the upper right hand corner.