PDA

View Full Version : Power Mac G5: Did I get the wrong Airport Card?




lPHONE
Dec 12, 2009, 04:35 AM
So I have the dual-core 2.33GHz G5 and I ordered this card (http://www.dvwarehouse.com/Apple-AirPort-Extreme,-Bluetooth-2.0-Card-802.11G--iMac-G5-,-Mac-mini-,-Powerbook-G4-A1126-p-35739.html). I installed it with the run way card or whatever it's called. The bluetooth works great, but I get no Wireless. Other computers work fine so I know it's not the network. Did I get the wrong card?



spinnerlys
Dec 12, 2009, 04:45 AM
It says nothing about PowerMacs in its description:

Where Used : Mac (17-inch), iMac (20-inch), iMac G5 (17-inch iSight), iMac G5 (20-inch iSight), iMac G5 ALS (17-inch), iMac G5 ALS (20-inch), Mac mini (Late 2005), PowerBook G4 (15-inch Double-Layer SD), PowerBook G4 (17-inch Double-Layer SD)


How does it connect? Via this run way card (http://www.mac-pro.com/s.nl/it.A/id.3187/.f?sc=2&category=454)?

http://www.mac-pro.com/core/media/media.nl;jsessionid=0a01105a1f4385c99404c9b341ad92cba4178593b6f5.e3eSc3aTah0Le34Pa38Ta38Maxz0?id=556 1&c=394315&h=a09f90bd8e523b17556a

What does System Profiler say under Network > Airport?

peskaa
Dec 12, 2009, 05:10 AM
Wrong card. AirPort and BT are separate on the PowerMacs, not a single board.

lPHONE
Dec 12, 2009, 05:58 AM
Wrong card. AirPort and BT are separate on the PowerMacs, not a single board.

on the core 2's, they're on the same card with something called a "run way" card.

peskaa
Dec 12, 2009, 06:22 AM
on the core 2's, they're on the same card with something called a "run way" card.

Oh weird, they used to use the standard AirPort Extreme cards back when I owned G5s.

http://www.applemacparts.co.uk/store/product_info.php?manufacturers_id=1345&products_id=58028

That is the right part. Note the part number is 661-3692, not 661-3614 that you purchased

lPHONE
Dec 13, 2009, 03:29 PM
It says nothing about PowerMacs in its description I didn't think it would matter.How does it connect? Via this run way card (http://www.mac-pro.com/s.nl/it.A/id.3187/.f?sc=2&category=454)?

http://www.mac-pro.com/core/media/media.nl;jsessionid=0a01105a1f4385c99404c9b341ad92cba4178593b6f5.e3eSc3aTah0Le34Pa38Ta38Maxz0?id=556 1&c=394315&h=a09f90bd8e523b17556a YES.What does System Profiler say under Network > Airport?
Airport Card Type: Airport Extreme
Airport Card Local: USA
Airport Card Firmware 405.1 (3.90.34.0.p18)
Current Wireless Network: No network selected

666sheep
Dec 14, 2009, 08:16 AM
Your AP is properly recognized by hardware and OS.
Go to Internet Connect in Apps and try to turn on Airport and see is there any network available. Then you got to configure Airport settings in Sys Prefs/Network.

If you will have poor signal level, it means that you could need additional external antenna: http://www.mac-pro.com/Airport-Extreme-External-Antenna-for-Power-Mac-G5-Tower?sc=2&category=180

lPHONE
Dec 14, 2009, 06:29 PM
when I click on the little Airport icon, it doesn't even try (spinning wheel) to find a network.
My G5 doesn't take that antenna, it's the one with the strip on the back.

OrangeSVTguy
Dec 14, 2009, 09:06 PM
when I click on the little Airport icon, it doesn't even try (spinning wheel) to find a network.
My G5 doesn't take that antenna, it's the one with the strip on the back.

The dual-core models had the combo bluetooth/airport card so you have the right card. They also had built in antennas so they didn't have the little antennas ports on the back.

OS seems to recognize it so that is fine. Only problem I can probably see is reception. Did you hook up the right cable for the bluetooth and airport? Maybe you mixed up the two or not connected it properly? Try taking off your side panel to help get a better signal, as the aluminum kills wireless reception. Just make sure you connected the cable antennas properly and securely.