PDA

View Full Version : Can a 700MHZ eMac run tiger?




Apple-Geek
Dec 20, 2009, 09:14 PM
My friend might sell me his emac for 30 bucks! I was wondering if it is possible to run 10.4 on it.


Thanks, :apple:-geek



belvdr
Dec 20, 2009, 09:16 PM
My friend might sell me his emac for 30 bucks! I was wondering if it is possible to run 10.4 on it.


Thanks, :apple:-geek

I'm sure it will. I ran 10.4 on an 800Mhz G4 with 768MB of RAM without issue.

bbergie
Dec 20, 2009, 09:51 PM
Yes it will. I run Tiger on a 667 Mhz system, and it runs brilliantly.

rjphoto
Dec 20, 2009, 10:07 PM
just max out the RAM. That may cost more than the eMac...

I'm running 10.5.6 on a 1.25ghz with 1Gb of RAM.

GeekLawyer
Dec 20, 2009, 11:14 PM
just max out the RAM. That may cost more than the eMac...Yep, what he said. Max out the eMac's RAM and enjoy your new Tiger system.

EliteF50
Dec 21, 2009, 12:37 AM
Yep, Tiger will work.

MacHamster68
Dec 21, 2009, 02:28 AM
yes tiger will run ...even good on it
i think its the best osx for the eMac anyway

Dino1956
Dec 21, 2009, 11:15 AM
I have the same eMac & if you use a Program called "Leopard Assist", you can even put Leopard On it. Of course you need to Max out the Ram to 1GB. That is my exact eMac setup. But I think Tiger ran a little faster than Leopard.

Apple-Geek
Dec 21, 2009, 12:59 PM
Cool then i am going to do it!


Thanks, :apple:-geek

Patmn
Dec 21, 2009, 02:26 PM
I have the same eMac & if you use a Program called "Leopard Assist", you can even put Leopard On it. Of course you need to Max out the Ram to 1GB. That is my exact eMac setup. But I think Tiger ran a little faster than Leopard.

I'm running Leopard on my 1.25 GHz eMac, with only 512 MB of ram and it works well (faster than Panther for sure) and I didn't need to run anything called "Leopard Assist" at all.

mkrishnan
Dec 21, 2009, 02:38 PM
I'm running Leopard on my 1.25 GHz eMac, with only 512 MB of ram and it works well (faster than Panther for sure) and I didn't need to run anything called "Leopard Assist" at all.

The system requirements for Leopard call for a G4 at 867MHz or faster, which is why you would not need Leopard Assist, and someone with a 700MHz eMac would....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_X_Leopard#System_requirements
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3759

I personally would go for Tiger if you can get more than 640MB of memory (I was not happy with Tiger at 640, but at 1.125GB it was ace), or perhaps Leopard if you can get above 1GB. But everyone varies. Some people are happy running Leopard on 512MB, clearly, and more power to them.