Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

billyzenme

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 21, 2009
Hello Macrumor members, I'm new to the whole Applescript scene and i need a bit of urgent help with my popup window/dialogue/screen.

What I want to do is get my user to select Alpha or Beta or Gamma or Omega or Theta and each option corresponds to a specific Microsoft Word document. Right now, the whole thing runs (or compiles) if I save it as an application. It opens the desired M$ Word document, but with a big issue.

If i run "Beta" and close it and then later if I open "Gamma", "Beta" would appear again (as well as Gamma which will open on top). I need to know how I can prevent that past "history" thingy (opening an old document at the same time) from happening.

Please help guys! thx in advance. :thx:

Here's a copy of my code:
Code:
set receipt to choose from list {"Alpha", "Beta", "Gamma", "Omega", "Theta"} with prompt "Greek me?" OK button name "Holla" cancel button name "Doh!"

if receipt is {"Alpha"} then say "Tens"
if receipt is {"Alpha"} then set filepath to POSIX path of "Macintosh HD:Users:dee:Documents:Receipts:Tens.docx"
try
set command to "open " & quoted form of filepath
do shell script command
end try
if receipt is {"Alpha"} then quit

if receipt is {"Beta"} then say "Hundreds"
if receipt is {"Beta"} then set filepath to POSIX path of "Macintosh HD:Users:dee:Documents:Receipts:Hundreds.docx"
try
do shell script command
end try
if receipt is {"Beta"} then quit

if receipt is {"Gamma"} then say "Thousands"
if receipt is {"Gamma"} then set filepath to POSIX path of "Macintosh HD:Users:dee:Documents:Receipts:Thousands.docx"
try
do shell script command
end try
if receipt is {"Gamma"} then quit

if receipt is {"Omega"} then say "Millions"
if receipt is {"Omega"} then set filepath to POSIX path of "Macintosh HD:Users:dee:Documents:Receipts:Millions.docx"
try
do shell script command