PDA

View Full Version : PowerMac Dual G5 Vs. 09 13" MacBook Pro

Stephen Dowling
Dec 22, 2009, 10:58 AM
Hey everyone, It's christmas time and I'm a high school student that needs a decent Mac Desktop. I have a MacBook Pro (2009, 4GB RAM, 2.26 GHz, 160GB, 9400m, 13") and I wanted to know if a Dual G5 would be better, worse, or about the same performance wise. I'm planning to max out the G5's graphics, HDD's, and memory. I know G5's are old and almost obsolete, but I would think they are worth it for $400-500. Any help here is much appreciated!

-Stephen.

rickvanr
Dec 22, 2009, 05:30 PM
If you're going to spend 400-500, get a decent monitor, kb and mouse and just plug in your laptop to it.

G5s are awesome, I had a Dual 2.7 for four and a half years until it sprung a leak. I can't tell you if it was faster or slower then my two year old 2.4 SR MBP, but I know it probably wouldn't be worth buying one now, especially considering your new mac book is probably quicker then my old one and they can't run Snow Leopard. If you're hard up on a desktop go entry level iMac.

Sydde
Dec 22, 2009, 07:07 PM
G5s are awesome, I had a Dual 2.7 for four and a half years until it sprung a leak...

Is that right, the 2.7 was liquid-cooled? I thought it was only the Dual-Dual 2.5?

jdm111
Dec 22, 2009, 08:06 PM
I just bought a late 2005 Dual Core G5, I'll let you know how it goes.

davidlv
Dec 23, 2009, 02:31 AM
I have a MacBook Pro (2009, 4GB RAM, 2.26 GHz, 160GB, 9400m, 13") and I wanted to know if a Dual G5 would be better, worse, or about the same performance wise. I'm planning to max out the G5's graphics, HDD's, and memory. I know G5's are old and almost obsolete, but I would think they are worth it for $400-500. Any help here is much appreciated!
-Stephen.