Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iasc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 16, 2009
What is the easiest to use c compiler for mac. I'm new to c programming and need something to practice on.
I was told bloodshed was best but that is only for pc i think

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
If you install the apple developer tools from your OS DVD, or download them from apple, this will install gcc. I can't say it's the best C compiler, i don't have much to compare it against, but it has become a pretty broad de facto standard. It should do all the C compilation you could ever want at this stage of the game.

-Lee

iasc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 16, 2009
Thanks Lee, I installed it. But (this is gonna sound stupid) I don't know how to open it. I think you do it through terminal but I'm not too sure. Any chance you could tell me how?

Cheers.

larkost

macrumors 6502a
Oct 13, 2007
If you are new to programming, or at least new to c, then you are going to want an IDE (Integrated Development Environment). That is a tool that wraps around the compiler and other tools to make developing a lot easier. Apple ships XCode as part of their developer tools, and this is an IDE. Now comes the bad news: learning an IDE can be a bit of work as they are complex tools (much like the compilers they wrap around). So just be prepared that this is going to take some leaning (get a good book), some time, and a bit of effort on your part.

pilotError

macrumors 68020
Apr 12, 2006
Long Island