PDA

View Full Version : Need help with iMac G3s, mac os 9 and mac os X tiger

lyam
Dec 27, 2009, 11:52 AM
Sorry, i hate posting nooby questions, but i've searched places and none have the answers i'm looking for, so i decided to post a thread.

Firstly, i'm quite new to macs and i have an iMac G3 tray load (266mHz), and a green G3 slot load (which i think is the 450mhz one as it is not working) and a few things have occured which i would like help with.

So.... i have have a slot G3 that when is booted, it comes up with a flashing question mark (it seems that its classic OS). Apparently, it requires the system install disc which i have, but when i try to boot from the disc, it still comes up with the flashing question mark. Am i right to conclude that the optical drive is broken then? If so, am i able to boot the disc using an external cd drive as it would be easier and cheaper to buy one of these than installing a new cd drive?

Also, i will be upgrading my tray loading G3 to a larger IDE hard drive. The orginal 6gb hard drive contains classic 9.2 and 10.3.9, but when i upgrade, i want to keep the os 9.2 and maybe install either panther or tiger, but i dont have the orginal classic OS disc that came with it, just the one for the slot loaing iMac. If i replace the hard drive with the larger one and partition it correctly, am i able to install classic OS using the disc from the slot loading iMac G3 and then panther or tiger without any complications? If not, what do i have to do as i would really like to keep the classic os too?