Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

steveOooo

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 30, 2008
UK
Ive recently shot for one week for 12x 40-50min fitness dvds which im now editing.

IM fairly new to this (hence payment is bit low)- he has said hell pay £500 once its complete then another 1,000 once he sell the rights - i would rather have this 1,000 as actual payment as i see it as a good 3 week job which 500per week would be bearable.

what else can i charge? im working from home, can i charge for electricity, rental of my equipment?, dvd burning, i used my camera to capture all footage (hdv) so rental of the camera? it took a solid two days to capture - i also used it as a locked off cam during filming

wkearney99

macrumors member
Dec 14, 2008
Bethesda, MD USA
This is just general advice.

Like any other form of service you do yourself and your customer a disservice by not knowing your local market rates. Find out what that sort of work costs locally and charge rates near that. If you charge too much you'll obviously lose potential clients. But if you charge too little you leave money on the table and potentially paint yourself into a corner. When you start out charging too little it becomes very hard to raise your rates. That and you eventually find out why the going rates are higher... because it costs more to do the work than you might have estimated.

Do the math on your costs. Your hourly wage, cost of equipment depreciated over it's reasonable lifespan, overhead and consumables costs, etc. Then look at what those totals divide down to over a monthly, weekly, per-diem and then hourly rate. This will help YOU understand what it truly 'costs' to do what's being done.

rjphoto

macrumors 6502a
Mar 7, 2005
What I charge in my area may not cover what it cost you to operate in your area.