PDA

View Full Version : Powerbook G4 now extremely slow




MaCDUDE00
Dec 30, 2009, 07:16 PM
I have a powerbook G4 1.5Ghz with 1.25GB of RAM running Leopard since it came out, about a year ago I replaced the harddrive with a new 250GB, everything worked great, then I took out the 1GB stick of RAM to use in my iMac, then ordered a new 1GB (Crucial) Now, the computer is super slow, processor usage is in the 90s doing nothing, it forgets my wifi network, and webpages take 1-2 minutes to load. So I put back in the old 1GB stick, no change. Then I did a clean install on the harddrive of Leopard, same thing, then I did another clean install, same thing. I believe the new harddrive is fine, makes no weird noises, etc. I checked and the computer is reading both RAM sticks, or so says system info, (see screen shot). Any idea what made this soooo slow and how to fix it? Thank you!!!



TEG
Dec 30, 2009, 07:19 PM
This sounds like a problem with the Parameter Ram or PMU. Restart the computer then hold down Command-Option-P-R and see if that helps. The next thing it to turn off the computer, the hold down Command, Options, Shift, and Power for 10 seconds, then let the computer start up and see if that helps.

TEG

DewGuy1999
Dec 30, 2009, 07:26 PM
Is the full 1.25 GB RAM showing up in About This Mac? Have you tried zapping the PRAM?

MaCDUDE00
Dec 30, 2009, 07:28 PM
This sounds like a problem with the Parameter Ram or PMU. Restart the computer then hold down Command-Option-P-R and see if that helps. The next thing it to turn off the computer, the hold down Command, Options, Shift, and Power for 10 seconds, then let the computer start up and see if that helps.

TEG

OK, that second one, holding down Command, Options, Shift, and Power for 10 seconds, you hold Power with all that? I've never heard of that, but I will try it right now, and this would persist even through a clean install? Oh, Love your quote!

MaCDUDE00
Dec 30, 2009, 07:29 PM
Is the full 1.25 GB RAM showing up in About This Mac? Have you tried zapping the PRAM?

Yup, unfortunately :(

joelypolly
Dec 30, 2009, 07:46 PM
When you open up Activity Monitor under the System Memory tab what do you see? Do you see page out greater than a few hundreds of megabytes under normal use?

DewGuy1999
Dec 30, 2009, 07:50 PM
Yup, unfortunately :(

Okay. Have you checked the HD with Disk Utility? Have you Repaired Permissions? Have the Daily/Weekly/Monthly maintenance tasks been running? You could also try checking the HD with SMARTReporter 2.4.2 (http://www.corecode.at/smartreporter/).

DewGuy1999
Jan 2, 2010, 10:28 AM
There is a pretty good article in this week's edition of Small Dog.com's Kibbles & Bytes #652 (http://blog.smalldog.com/kibbles/kb652/). Scroll down to the article Ten Tips for Dealing with Unexpected Mac Slowdowns. Hope this helps.

Mael Thibault
Jan 2, 2010, 08:34 PM
I would copy the macintosh HD (like the whole computer) on a seperate Hard DRive and then i would erase everything (like with the writing zero's to the drive). Once that is done, put everything back in the computer... Try and not put everything, so there is space on the disc for other stuff...