PDA

View Full Version : logic board upgrade for sawtooth g4?




brendu
Jan 1, 2010, 02:45 PM
so i have a powermac g4 sawtooth that ive done a number of upgrades to, but im wondering... is there a new(er) logic board that will fit into the powermac and possibly be intel compatible?



robbieduncan
Jan 1, 2010, 02:46 PM
There was never an Intel Mac in that sort of case. So no.

brendu
Jan 1, 2010, 02:50 PM
i know that, im just curious, would it be possible to fit a modern motherboard into that case? basically turning it into a hackintosh?

robbieduncan
Jan 1, 2010, 02:52 PM
Not without a lot of work. I'm pretty sure it's been done but those cases (and the Apple logic boards) are not ATX standard so it's not like the screw holes/apertures for ports etc line up.

Edit to add: for example (http://homepage.mac.com/cycline3/pc-to-mac/index.html)

brendu
Jan 1, 2010, 03:10 PM
Not without a lot of work. I'm pretty sure it's been done but those cases (and the Apple logic boards) are not ATX standard so it's not like the screw holes/apertures for ports etc line up.

Edit to add: for example (http://homepage.mac.com/cycline3/pc-to-mac/index.html)

yeah thats what i was wondering... thanks

goMac
Jan 1, 2010, 04:01 PM
The machine is probably done. Any way you look it it, buying a PC or a real Intel Mac is going to be cheaper.

brendu
Jan 1, 2010, 04:11 PM
The machine is probably done. Any way you look it it, buying a PC or a real Intel Mac is going to be cheaper.

yeah your right about that.. really there is no point to it, im not going to, i was more or less just curious

ljonesj
Jan 1, 2010, 04:50 PM
i have 2 sawtooth g4 mac cases but they were actually when i looked up there specs the next version of the power mac which if i rember was quicksilver in the blue cases which are sawtooth

both of mine are the 4 slot pci models
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Mac_G4

disconap
Jan 1, 2010, 05:10 PM
You can do it but it's a lot of work. If it's a hobby type thing, I say go for it.

You'll need to pick up a new power supply as well, though, as even if you get a 20-pin ATX mobo, the wire configuration is different (I modded an ATX to work with a sawtooth, not a big deal but involved killing a line and splicing another).

Post pics if you decide to go through with it!

California
Jan 1, 2010, 05:21 PM
Have a fried with an upgraded 500ghz Powermac G4 to Sonnet 1.8ghz G4 and upgraded video card.

He's very happy.

brendu
Jan 1, 2010, 05:23 PM
Have a fried with an upgraded 500ghz Powermac G4 to Sonnet 1.8ghz G4 and upgraded video card.

He's very happy.

yeah ive upgraded the processor to a sonnet 1.0ghz and a nicer graphics card... the dual core 1.8 is so damn expensive it makes no sense to buy it at all IMO...