PDA

View Full Version : Which Graphics Card is superior in a PowerMac G4




bluetooth
Jan 7, 2010, 09:39 PM
Which Graphics Card is superior in a MDD PowerMac G4?

ATI Radeon 9000 Pro graphics card

OR

NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 32mb


I think the Radeon as the Geforce4 is the low end standard that came with PoweMac, correct?



yoda13
Jan 7, 2010, 09:43 PM
I honestly don't remember, but I had the 9000 is my powermac that died earlier this year, and I was quite pleased when I got it....:)

quantum003
Jan 8, 2010, 12:57 AM
The ATI Radeon Pro is either 64MB or 128MB. Either version is superior to the crap-tastic NVidia card. :)

Pressure
Jan 8, 2010, 06:39 AM
But wouldn't it be better to save the money until you could afford something as the Mac Mini? Which ultimately will be heaps faster, smaller and quieter than that G4?

bluetooth
Jan 8, 2010, 01:29 PM
^I actually already have the ATI Radeon 9000 Pro graphics card, I was just asking because I could have picked up the NVIDIA for next to nothing...I will likely be springing for a MacBook Pro at some point this year but looking at the mini 2.53Ghz, 320GB HD, 4GB memory, I wonder if this would be powerful enough to handle graphic intensive Apps such as Adobe CS3, Flash, Final Cut Pro iTunes and the likes? More specifically, if it could handle all of these Apps mentioned above running at the same time?

Hmmm, looking at the mini, you have caught my attention...do you know if Adobe CS3 runs ok on Snow Leopard?

Thanks for the suggestion...

bluetooth
Jan 8, 2010, 03:07 PM
Also wondering, is it worth the $150 upgrade from the 2.53Ghz to the
2.66Ghz for the Adobe and Web design Apps? I am sure it would be better performance, but how much better and is it necessary? I don't do any video editing etc.

Thanks

disconap
Jan 8, 2010, 08:13 PM
The mini in question will work flawlessly for the graphics apps in CS3 and 4, and probably 5 when it comes out in spring/summer. It will run a little slower than the towers for the video/animation apps, but it will still work better than what you have now.

disconap
Jan 8, 2010, 08:16 PM
Also wondering, is it worth the $150 upgrade from the 2.53Ghz to the
2.66Ghz for the Adobe and Web design Apps? I am sure it would be better performance, but how much better and is it necessary? I don't do any video editing etc.

Thanks

The difference between 2.53ghz and 2.66ghz may be 130mHz, but in practical terms it is a difference of about 5%, or performance wise pretty much the same difference between 253mhz and 266mhz or even 25mhz and 27mhz (if you can remember back that far). So it's up to you whether it is worth it; for my money it's pretty rare that I notice any difference worth paying for under 15%, but it's up to you.

bluetooth
Jan 10, 2010, 02:10 AM
^Thanks for the info. :cool:

dazey
Jan 12, 2010, 05:48 PM
You can also put a 9600 from a G5 into a G4. My MDD came with the 9000 card and I upgraded it. As lots of people swapped out their stock G5 9600s they were dirt cheap on ebay. You just need to cut or cover a few pins (try a google search if you want to try it). I think the 9000 is better than the geforce from memory. The fastest official card for the G4s was the 9800 but they ran really hot and were noisy (9600 is a air-cooled card as is the 9000)

lannister80
Jan 12, 2010, 06:55 PM
You can also put a 9600 from a G5 into a G4. My MDD came with the 9000 card and I upgraded it. As lots of people swapped out their stock G5 9600s they were dirt cheap on ebay. You just need to cut or cover a few pins (try a google search if you want to try it). I think the 9000 is better than the geforce from memory. The fastest official card for the G4s was the 9800 but they ran really hot and were noisy (9600 is a air-cooled card as is the 9000)
I bought a 9800 Pro for my MDD G4 and the fan on it died about 2 years later. Was able to replace it and the card was OK, but MAN was that thing hot when I came home to blank screen (overheated card) and pulled it out.

Good card though, I mean for a MDD anyway. Could even run around Dalaran with it. :)

California
Jan 16, 2010, 10:18 AM
I may have a 9600 128mb from a G5 if you still need it.

MrCheeto
Mar 1, 2010, 12:52 PM
I honestly don't remember, but I had the 9000 is my powermac that died earlier this year, and I was quite pleased when I got it....:)

Your PowerMac is dead? Do you know how? What are the symptoms? PM me :D