PDA

View Full Version : Help with windows 7




Lurchdubious
Jan 7, 2010, 10:27 PM
So I installed W7 on the UMB in my signature. I have 4 gigs of ram on the macbook, 2.4 ghz processor. I've allocated from 2 up to 2.5 gb ram for W7 to run, but it runs TERRIBLY slow. Like Can't-use-it slow; freezing up constantly. I got the 64 bit version. Should I have gotten the 32 bit version? Is there anything I can do to make it run fast??

OH, and I'm running the newest version of Fusion.



balamw
Jan 7, 2010, 10:38 PM
What apps are you running?

I have the same MB and am using the 32 bit, and I don't find it particularly slow. I have 64 bit on the MBP.

B

MythicFrost
Jan 7, 2010, 11:34 PM
I see, the OS should run smoothly with: 2GB RAM, 128MB VRAM, 1 PCore.
With Parallels 5 you need to install the "Parallels Tools", is there a similar thing with Fusion?

How long does it take to get to the desktop?

maflynn
Jan 8, 2010, 08:02 AM
The 32bit version will run faster. There's really no reason to run the 64bit version of win7 in a VM. You're really not taking advantages that 64bit provides, i.e., accessibility to ram > 4gig. In fact the overhead needed to manage a 64bit OS mitigates (in a VM) mitigates any possible performance gains 64bit may have over 32.

Just my $.02

Lurchdubious
Jan 8, 2010, 09:37 AM
The 32bit version will run faster. There's really no reason to run the 64bit version of win7 in a VM. You're really not taking advantages that 64bit provides, i.e., accessibility to ram > 4gig. In fact the overhead needed to manage a 64bit OS mitigates (in a VM) mitigates any possible performance gains 64bit may have over 32.

Just my $.02

Thanks, that's what I'm thinking. Now I just need to figure out who to give my 64 bit copy to ;).

I'm not running any apps. I can't even get the friggin' thing to RUN correctly.

MythicFrost
Jan 8, 2010, 05:25 PM
When you buy Windows 7 it comes with both 32-bit and 64-bit versions (unless yours didn't?), you can't give one away, I don't think the serial key will let you. I don't really know (mine came with two, I'm in Australia though)

maflynn
Jan 8, 2010, 05:30 PM
When you buy Windows 7 it comes with both 32-bit and 64-bit versions
Only the retail copy comes in both 32bit and 64bit.

The OEM or the student versions you need to choose at time of purchase whether you want 32 or 64bit

MythicFrost
Jan 8, 2010, 05:37 PM
I see.

balamw
Jan 9, 2010, 08:12 PM
The product keys usually just specify the edition of Windows (Home Premium, ..., Ultimate) and if you have access to the 32 bit media you can install that even if you bought a 64 bit version. I believe you can even buy replacement media for the "other" bit version for a nominal fee ($20-ish).

B

Lurchdubious
Jan 9, 2010, 08:52 PM
The product keys usually just specify the edition of Windows (Home Premium, ..., Ultimate) and if you have access to the 32 bit media you can install that even if you bought a 64 bit version. I believe you can even buy replacement media for the "other" bit version for a nominal fee ($20-ish).

B

Thanks. I actually ended up selling my 64 bit copy on craigslist last night in a matter of hrs.

Installing the 32 bit version right now...