Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Chris7

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 8, 2008
Lost in Thought
Hello,

I'm a beginner, interested in a book (or books) that teaches how to shoot people in candid situations (someone said "candid portrait" was an oxymoron, so I'm not sure what this is called).

I am primarily interested in learning composition.

(I'm very interested the more technical aspects (optics, etc.), but I don't want too get sidetracked from the basics of what makes a good photo. I'm trying to save learning that for later).

Thanks,
Chris

gnd

macrumors 6502a
Jun 2, 2008
At my cat's house
I would suggest two books by Bryan Peterson:
1. Understanding Exposure
2. Learning To See Creatively (Design, Color & Composition in Photography)

OrangeCuse44

macrumors 65832
Oct 25, 2006
I'll second Understanding Exposure, it's the first book I read. Can't speak for the second book though, haven't read it.

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
I would suggest two books by Bryan Peterson:
1. Understanding Exposure
2. Learning To See Creatively (Design, Color & Composition in Photography)

These two are very good. For the technical aspects of photography, the first is probably the best in print right now. The title makes it sound narrow and simple, but it's a very well written and well illustrated book that I think any beginning photographer would do well to read.

Kronie

macrumors 6502a
Dec 4, 2008
Yea, the Bryan Peterson books are good, esp. #1 but don't forget about forums. POTN, DP Review, Fred Miranda. I have learned more from forums in the last 5 years than I ever did from books.

Chris7

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 8, 2008
Lost in Thought
Thanks for the Bryan Peterson suggestions.

I just ordered "Learning to See Creatively" and "Understanding Exposure" from Amazon.

-Chris

romanticf16

macrumors newbie
Jan 19, 2010
Commerce Twp. MI
Photo books