PDA

View Full Version : New Powermac G4!!!! I Want To Upgrade!!!!!




MacintoshMaster
Jan 16, 2010, 05:42 AM
Hello everybody,
I am new on this forum and I must say,it looks awesome!

I have been using macs for 2 years now and they are the greatest!
I run software like Sibelius 6 and Logic Pro.

Now,
I have just bought a Powermac G4 from ebay and here is the item description:

Apple Power Mac G4 in Good Condition, few small scuffs to case.

Mirrored CD Drive Doors

Currently has Mac OS X Leopard Installed.

Two Hard Drives:
1x 200GB
1x 40GB

1.75GB RAM
1.25GHz Processor

No Screen, just Tower included in auction


Is there anyway I could upgrade the processor in the computer?
A intel duo would be nice, or even a Xeon!!!

A new Graphics card and sound would be cool too!

What are all the things I could upgrade on the computer and where can I buy them in the UK?

Thanks!
John.
:apple:



macuser154
Jan 16, 2010, 05:54 AM
You can't put an Intel processor in it, as it is a PPC Mac and only supports the G4 processor (AFAIK). However, if you strip the PowerMac out and put PC components in it, then you can have upgradeability, and you could run OSX86 on it.

You may be able to bump the RAM up a bit more. There are graphics cards available for it (I think ATI make one). You can upgrade the storage and optical drive. And you also have PCI.

It's worth taking into mind though that it is an old computer and it's limits, in terms of upgradeability, may become very apparent once you start buying stuff for it.

MacintoshMaster
Jan 16, 2010, 05:57 AM
You can't put an Intel processor in it, as it is a PPC Mac and only supports the G4 processor (AFAIK). However, if you strip the Mac out and put PC components in it, then you can have upgradeability, and you could run OSX86 on it.

You may be able to bump the RAM up a bit more. There are graphics cards for the available (I think ATI make one). You can upgrade the storage and optical drive. And you also have PCI.

It's worth taking into mind though that it is an old computer and it's limits, in terms of upgradeability, may become very apparent once you start buying stuff for it.

Hi,
What if I put a new motherboard into it?

What is OSx86?

How would I do this?

Queso
Jan 16, 2010, 06:16 AM
OSx86 creates what commonly gets known as a "Hackintosh", namely Mac OSX running on non-Apple hardware. It's forbidden under Apple's EULA for OSX, and tends to always be a version or so behind the official release as Apple breaks things that the OSx86 people then have to fix.

TBH I think you'd be better off re-selling the PowerMac to someone who specifically needs to use Mac OS Classic software, then trying to get an Intel mini or second hand iMac. I don't think a PowerPC Mac meets your needs.

MacintoshMaster
Jan 16, 2010, 06:18 AM
OSx86 creates what commonly gets known as a "Hackintosh", namely Mac OSX running on non-Apple hardware. It's forbidden under Apple's EULA for OSX, and tends to always be a version or so behind the official release as Apple breaks things that the OSx86 people then have to fix.

TBH I think you'd be better off re-selling the PowerMac to someone who specifically needs to use Mac OS Classic software, then trying to get an Intel mini or second hand iMac. I don't think a PowerPC Mac meets your needs.

Hi,
I have a eMac and it does all the things I want and that is a G4 processor.

I am just wondering, if I could upgrade it.

How do I do OSx86/Hackintosh?

Thanks
John.

OllyW
Jan 16, 2010, 06:21 AM
You've bought a computer that's at least 6 years old and technology has moved on in the meantime. Upgrades for your PowerMac are very limited, you can upgrade the RAM to a maximum of 2GB for example. Video card upgrades were limited 6 years ago, you would have to buy second hand if you want one now.

Upgrading to a modern motherboard and processor is not straightforward. For a start it won't just drop into the case, you will have to do some cutting, fabricating and drilling to make it fit. You will also need a new power supply, a new graphics card and some new RAM to work with the new motherboard.

Then you have to load the operating system. You will have to go the Hackintosh route because you are no longer using Apple hardware. Read this (http://lifehacker.com/5351485/how-to-build-a-hackintosh-with-snow-leopard-start-to-finish) to get an idea of what you need to do.

If this sounds a bit much, listen to the good advice offered by Queso and get yourself an Intel Mac. :)

Queso
Jan 16, 2010, 06:41 AM
I am just wondering, if I could upgrade it.
Technically the answer is yes...but unless you want to start massacring the case and intend to throw out most of the innards you are limited to only the G4 processor. The G5 used a different architecture, and the Intel processors are completely different beats entirely.

Maximum speed that machine will give you easily is a dual 2.0GHz G4, using NewerTech (http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer%20Technology/MAXG48S2000/)'s upgrade card. However, it's still going to be a lot slower than a Mac mini. It's not a good cost/benefit ratio.

MacintoshMaster
Jan 16, 2010, 07:02 AM
Technically the answer is yes...but unless you want to start massacring the case and intend to throw out most of the innards you are limited to only the G4 processor. The G5 used a different architecture, and the Intel processors are completely different beats entirely.

Maximum speed that machine will give you easily is a dual 2.0GHz G4, using NewerTech (http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer%20Technology/MAXG48S2000/)'s upgrade card. However, it's still going to be a lot slower than a Mac mini. It's not a good cost/benefit ratio.


Than newtech thing sounds great!

I don't need an intel - a PPC is fine!

Could I get that newtech thing in the UK?

iMpathetic
Jan 16, 2010, 07:05 AM
Than newtech thing sounds great!

I don't need an intel - a PPC is fine!

Could I get that newtech thing in the UK?

I assume you could, but it might be a little bit expensive for not so much of a gain in performance. What I would do is use your Power Mac for a while and if you feel like it's too slow, sell it on craigslist or eBay, save up a little extra money, and buy a newer Intel Mac. If you think it's fast enough for you, don't worry about it! :)

Transporteur
Jan 16, 2010, 07:12 AM
Is there anyway I could upgrade the processor in the computer?
A intel duo would be nice, or even a Xeon!!!



Than newtech thing sounds great!

I don't need an intel - a PPC is fine!


:confused:

Anyway, the $400 upgrade from NewerTech is a waste of money.
You can get an Intel Mac Mini for that price and these machines run circles around a G4!

300D
Jan 16, 2010, 07:28 AM
Clearly the computer you've bought is nothing like what you want. Sell it and buy something else.

macuser154
Jan 16, 2010, 08:34 AM
Hi,
What if I put a new motherboard into it?

What is OSx86?

You can't just put any-old motherboard in a Mac, you need an Apple one or else Mac OS won't work.

However... OSX86 allows you to run OS X on regular old PC hardware, so you could built a new computer inside the G4 case, and run Mac OS X. Although I have never tried this, your better off asking someone else on the forum.

Salavat23
Jan 16, 2010, 08:48 AM
$400 for the CPUs is a waste of money. You can build a solid C2D Hackintosh rig for ~$500 that will be leagues ahead of that G4.

California
Jan 16, 2010, 09:56 AM
To OP

Max out the ram and maybe get a new graphics card and have fun with it.

Put Leopard on it with a graphics card that can handle it and I think you'll have a lot of fun.

It's not a bad machine at all.

I have a friend who upgraded his Powermac G4 500 mhz to a 1.8ghz machine and he loves it.

At the moment I am on a borrowed 2.0 Powermac G5 (granted, with eight gigs of ram) which is PPC or PowerPC as well, running Leopard and it is as fast if not faster than my 2.26ghz mac mini.

Consultant
Jan 16, 2010, 10:19 AM
Sounds like you should buy a Mac Mini.

I use my PowerMac G4 as a server, not my main computer.

OrangeSVTguy
Jan 16, 2010, 10:20 AM
The fastest compatible G4 processor is a dual 1.8ghz, they also make a 2.0ghz CPU. Both more expensive than the MDD is worth and it's worth it for the amount of performance you get in return. The slow frontside bus of the G4 is a bottle neck. 2gb is the max which looks like you just need to upgrade one of the 256mb to 512mb. A ATI 9800 Pro 128mb is a good graphics card to get while it's cheap and powerful.

Just wait until your power supply fails, that's gonna be more to fix than the whole MDD is worth.

I'd say just use it as it is without dumping too much money into it. Also being in the UK will also just make it even more expensive to buy upgrades.

JacaByte
Jan 16, 2010, 10:29 AM
Just sell the silly thing, it's going to be more cost effective to get something newer that will do what you want it to than to try and make do with that G4 tower.

fromthealder
Jan 16, 2010, 10:34 AM
I've had a single cpu MDD 1.25Ghz Mac since they were new. As others have said, there really isn't much sense in paying for a CPU upgrade, but a few years ago I did read about a way to get a free boost in CPU speed from 1.25 to 1.5 Ghz (or possibly higher). I tried it and it worked. It's not a great boost in speed but it doesn't cost anything (other than the risk of ruining your logic board, which I suppose could be considered a cost). If you are at all handy all you need to do is remove resistors from the logic board following the directions here:

http://aquamac.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=talk&action=display&thread=767

The guy who posted that got his MDD up to 1.67Ghz - this was about a year ago. A few years ago I used the directions from another site I can't find now to do essentially the same thing but because the computer was newer then I only pushed it to 1.5Ghz.

brendu
Jan 16, 2010, 10:34 AM
you cant put a PC motherboard in the g4 towers, i looked into it once... It would take a lot of custom work and would ruin the case... the ATX motherboards will not just screw into place...

A processor upgrade as others have said is a huge waste of money. I upgraded to a sonnet encore g4 1.0ghz a few years back but that was before ppc was obsolete.. today they still cost the same, which is insane... I would use it as is... maybe max the ram out, but thats it.. don't spend much money on it... As others have said the Mini would run circles around it... and be MUCH quieter.

lannister80
Jan 16, 2010, 11:44 AM
About all you can do is put in a dual-processor G4 1.25GHz.

You'll need a different processor daughterboard and a dual processor heatsink.

MacintoshMaster
Jan 16, 2010, 01:57 PM
The fastest compatible G4 processor is a dual 1.8ghz, they also make a 2.0ghz CPU. Both more expensive than the MDD is worth and it's worth it for the amount of performance you get in return. The slow frontside bus of the G4 is a bottle neck. 2gb is the max which looks like you just need to upgrade one of the 256mb to 512mb. A ATI 9800 Pro 128mb is a good graphics card to get while it's cheap and powerful.

Just wait until your power supply fails, that's gonna be more to fix than the whole MDD is worth.

I'd say just use it as it is without dumping too much money into it. Also being in the UK will also just make it even more expensive to buy upgrades.

Hi,
Please could you tell me what that 2.0GHz CPU is called (So I can search for it)

I can't afford a mac mini - I wanted an old, cheap, jazzy computer and the spec of this computer will run my software - I have a eMac and that runs it.

I would be very happy with 2.0GHz on this computer.

I like the PowerMac G4 MDD and would be happy with 2.0GHz and 2GB RAM.

So, will somebody tell me what 2.0GHz processor my Mac will take.

Thanks!
John.

Please Help.

iMpathetic
Jan 16, 2010, 02:52 PM
I can't afford a mac mini
I would be very happy with 2.0GHz on this computer.


Okay, look: if you wanted a CHEAP computer, you got one. Upgrades cost MONEY, and the fastest upgrade for your computer is DUAL 1.8GHz processors. Here (http://store1.sonnettech.com/product_info.php?cPath=22_90&products_id=182) it is. It costs $599. THAT IS AS MUCH AS A BRAND NEW MAC MINI.

MacintoshMaster
Jan 16, 2010, 05:40 PM
Okay, look: if you wanted a CHEAP computer, you got one. Upgrades cost MONEY, and the fastest upgrade for your computer is DUAL 1.8GHz processors. Here (http://store1.sonnettech.com/product_info.php?cPath=22_90&products_id=182) it is. It costs $599. THAT IS AS MUCH AS A BRAND NEW MAC MINI.



But the mac mini is not as cool as a powermac...

But thanks!
I'll look into that!

MacintoshMaster
Jan 16, 2010, 07:37 PM
To OP

Max out the ram and maybe get a new graphics card and have fun with it.

Put Leopard on it with a graphics card that can handle it and I think you'll have a lot of fun.

It's not a bad machine at all.

I have a friend who upgraded his Powermac G4 500 mhz to a 1.8ghz machine and he loves it.

At the moment I am on a borrowed 2.0 Powermac G5 (granted, with eight gigs of ram) which is PPC or PowerPC as well, running Leopard and it is as fast if not faster than my 2.26ghz mac mini.


Wich Graphics card?

OrangeSVTguy
Jan 16, 2010, 07:43 PM
Wich Graphics card?

I already mentioned it, ATI 9800 Pro 128mb.

goMac
Jan 18, 2010, 12:58 AM
I can't afford a mac mini - I wanted an old, cheap, jazzy computer and the spec of this computer will run my software - I have a eMac and that runs it.

I think the point that was made is the upgrades you'll need will cost just as much as a Mac Mini. And the Mac Mini will still be faster, even after the upgrades.

300D
Jan 18, 2010, 02:41 AM
But the mac mini is not as cool as a powermac...

Only to you.

Keniff
Jan 18, 2010, 08:48 PM
Hello everybody,
I am new on this forum and I must say,it looks awesome!

I have been using macs for 2 years now and they are the greatest!
I run software like Sibelius 6 and Logic Pro.

Now,
I have just bought a Powermac G4 from ebay and here is the item description:

Apple Power Mac G4 in Good Condition, few small scuffs to case.

Mirrored CD Drive Doors

Currently has Mac OS X Leopard Installed.

Two Hard Drives:
1x 200GB
1x 40GB

1.75GB RAM
1.25GHz Processor

No Screen, just Tower included in auction


Is there anyway I could upgrade the processor in the computer?
A intel duo would be nice, or even a Xeon!!!

A new Graphics card and sound would be cool too!

What are all the things I could upgrade on the computer and where can I buy them in the UK?

Thanks!
John.
:apple:


Sell it and buy a MacPro or G5 - Job done...

OrangeSVTguy
Jan 18, 2010, 08:57 PM
Sell it and buy a MacPro or G5 - Job done...

He currently can't afford a new Mini so I doubt he can purchase a Mac Pro. Although a G5 would be in your price range. You can find dual-core models for <$300 on ebay(in the US anyways).

PurpleLogix
Jan 18, 2010, 09:03 PM
He is a newbie, let him have his fun with upgrading. Once all is done, he will realise that a mini or G5 would have been a better option.

G4 towers are cool, but not to waste too much money on them.

300D
Jan 19, 2010, 08:40 AM
G4's make great emergency computers and doorstops. Thats about it. They were outdated technology 10 years ago when they got stuck at 500mhz.

lannister80
Jan 19, 2010, 10:15 AM
I already mentioned it, ATI 9800 Pro 128mb.
I have a 256MB 9800 Pro in my old MDD G4, got it from OWC in 2005 or so.

zmttoxics
Jan 19, 2010, 03:25 PM
I can't be bothered to look, but I think the eMac topped out at 1.4ghz. If your eMac runs your software, and all you want is for your new PMG4 to run it too then you are set at 1.25ghz. The cpus are the same practically. Just install your software and continue life as per normal.

dandeco
Jan 20, 2010, 11:14 PM
Keep the machine as it is, but upgrade the graphics card if you can and maybe replace the CD drive with a SuperDrive, if it hasn't been done. My college used to use Power Mac G4 QuickSilvers in our TV and audio editing labs, and they had 800 MHz processors yet they ran Mac OS X Leopard just fine. Last summer we replaced them with 24" Core 2 Duo iMacs, though, but at least I was able to teach myself how to use Mac OS X Leopard using an old PowerMac G4! (I didn't have my own Mac yet by that point.)

Mike Macintosh
Jan 21, 2010, 12:12 AM
Although G4 tech is old, they are nice for collectors, and they are very limited to upgradability, I am with the majority saying that you should really consider getting a Mini.

macgeek18
Jan 21, 2010, 12:41 AM
You might have wanted to save a bit more and buy a PowerMac G5,your very limited with that G4,I was with mine,then I got a G5 and upgradability is amazing,check my siggy,My G5 can support up to 2TB and 8GB DDR ram,not bad at all.

macgeek18
Jan 21, 2010, 12:46 AM
Although,your G4 is still a good piece of Mac hardware and my first half Modern Mac was my 867Mhz G4 which is still running and is my secondary computer.And it only has 1GB of ram.

Consultant
Jan 21, 2010, 12:55 AM
G4's make great emergency computers and doorstops. Thats about it. They were outdated technology 10 years ago when they got stuck at 500mhz.

You are a little bit off.

Yeah they got "stuck" at 500mhz, right...
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g4/stats/powermac_g4_1.25_mdd.html

As I said, they are great for servers.

300D
Jan 22, 2010, 04:14 PM
Yeah they got "stuck" at 500mhz, right...
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g4/stats/powermac_g4_1.25_mdd.html

If you actually knew what you were talking about instead of being a googleboy, you'd understand my point. It took a complete redesign of the core, and more than 3 times the transistors, to get past 500mhz.

Nostromo
Jan 22, 2010, 05:30 PM
I'm a little bit puzzled why people buy such old hardware.

It's nothing but trouble and your computer knowledge will get outdated, too, as you are dealing with software versions that have long been defunct.

Even on a budget you should be able to get a decent payment plan for a mini plus a modest display or a MacBook.

And don't forget the refurb route.

On top of all this, an old computer will be more prone to failure, and it will cost you to fix it.

Keniff
Jan 22, 2010, 11:22 PM
Clearly the computer you've bought is nothing like what you want. Sell it and buy something else.

^ ^ ^

This

MacintoshMaster
Jan 26, 2010, 11:06 AM
Ok,

I received the powermac and liked it for some days but then found out that each time I moved windows there was purple fuzz and when I opened a picture the whole screen turned to fuzz.
I told the seller but he didn't care so I had to report him to ebay etc... anyway, I got my money and now I am going to buy,

I am going to......

Buy a brand new iMac 27"

I lied about not affording a mac mini!
I just wanted a powermac g4 but I love the imacs so I will get one in some weeks!

Sky Blue
Jan 26, 2010, 11:15 AM
I lied about not affording a mac mini!


ok...

ZennZero
Jan 26, 2010, 12:24 PM
Stop feeding the troll, folks.

dandeco
Feb 6, 2010, 05:19 PM
I just got a PowerMac G4 QuickSilver (867 MHz) because it was VERY cheap and easily in my price-range, and I wanted to have an easily-upgradeable machine. Plus. we used these at my college and they were good solid machines. Currently it has 768 MB of RAM, a 40 GB internal hard drive (I plan to put a second 80 GB drive in the machine as well), an HP DVD-/+RW-DL drive replacing the CD-RW drive, and an NVIDIA graphics card with 32 MB of VRAM.

I just put a fresh clean install of Mac OS X Tiger on the machine. I know they can support Leopard, and the old PowerMacs my college had ran Leopard just fine at only 800MHz! But I think Tiger would be faster on this Mac than Leopard. So far it works just fine. I even put in a PCI USB 2.0 card which works just fine. So far it is a MUCH better buy than that old iMac G3!

However, I do not have a DVI-capable monitor, so I temporarily borrowed my brother's Dell flat-screen display to see how the Mac was (this model has a DVI and ADC graphics card, no VGA). I will be getting a DVI-to-VGA adapter since I already have a couple of good VGA monitors (and want to save money on a MacBook).

I'd only recommend buying one of those PowerMac G4s if you're a fan of older Macs, or to save money versus a newer one.

bumzo1
Feb 6, 2010, 06:52 PM
Good choice

OrangeSVTguy
Feb 6, 2010, 07:03 PM
Cool story, bro.

http://www.city-data.com/forum/attachments/phoenix-area/22586d1215211347-place-sucks-13-81699-post_6_85470_troll_spray-medium-.jpg

You might need a bigger can to clear out the rest around here....