PDA

View Full Version : 128 RunCore ssd for MacBook Air rev.b&c turned up 32 gb. RunCore please read!




samtim
Jan 18, 2010, 11:54 PM
Hello,

This is my first post in here, though reading this forum for a while. I got MBA rev.c (1.86 with 120 hdd) searched thru available ssd upgrades and found guys suggesting RunCore.

So I ordered one with 128 gb. Yesterday I got it. Proceeded with install, though no installation guide were present inside the box.

I decided to backup my hdd - about 35 gigs. Connected SSD via USB and launched cccloner and started cloning. To my surprise, at about 97% completion cccloner warned: "Not enough space on target disk"

I was WTF???!!! Checked properties of RunCore SSD via finder and Disk Utility and it showed 32 gb RunCore drive!!

I immediately contacted shop I bought ssd from via email providing all specs of my Mac and ssd including serial number and part number. They was like "Oh rlly? Contact RunCore directly, we are only selling their stuff". Later that day, when I got no reply, I phoned them, asked to take into consideration my request.

They said Ok. I also contacted RunCore via contact us form from their site - still no reply (tried to phone them, but Skype was unable to dial copy&pasted number from RunCore's site)

I got reply saying: "Is your SSD labeled 126 gb? Maybe hidden partitions? You could return ssd if you want"

I replied - "Yes, ofc its 128 gb. What hidden partitions you talking about? I can return it, but I need ssd!" They "Uhm, lets check it", they also emailed RunCore.

Now we are all waiting for replies.

Im here to ask you guys: what size showed your RunCore SSD when you connected it first time via USB?
Is it possible factory labeling error or working as intended during backup? (i doubt latter)

All feedback appreciated, thanks for advance guys and girls.

Sam



daferrisda
Jan 19, 2010, 03:22 AM
Hi Sam,

I received the Macbook Rev A version and it was 128gb in the caddy out the box.

I'd give up on Runcore as I couldn't get any response from them at all, as now after only 3 days of use the SSD is completely dead. The suppliers seem to be shy in responding to emails as well, not impressed !

GoCubsGo
Jan 19, 2010, 03:41 AM
This is surprising as they seemed real interested in customer service not to far back. They even gave an SSD to a member here to do a review. Seems as of late they're either too busy to keep or or too disinterested in helping. Either way it's sad for the customer who paid a pretty penny for their product.

samtim
Jan 19, 2010, 05:22 AM
Hi Sam,

I received the Macbook Rev A version and it was 128gb in the caddy out the box.

I'd give up on Runcore as I couldn't get any response from them at all, as now after only 3 days of use the SSD is completely dead. The suppliers seem to be shy in responding to emails as well, not impressed !

Well that sucks big time:(
You think Im lucky that I have my ssd running up?
Hope RunCore guy who was seen on these forums will help to solve the problems.

Jessica you might be right that they are busy.
But what they should be really busy about is their clients: not shops, but end-users.

Mac things are very "viral" and heck why would have i ever bothered with buying RunCore - got info from forum.

No emails or anything to the moment.
Hope we will get updates and explanations.

LinMac
Jan 19, 2010, 06:41 AM
You can contact RunCore a number of different ways:

1) On this forum by sending a private message to the username RunCore.

1) On Twitter at http://twitter.com/RunCore

3) On the Tweaktown.com forums at http://forums.tweaktown.com/f78/

4) On their website at http://www.runcore.com/content/support/

The SSDs really are a solid product. I'm using one in my Macbook Air Rev. B and it is amazing.

You might want to try doing a full format of your SSD before cloning it. I had good luck fixing some unrelated problems by doing that.

Which reseller did you buy it from?

Scottsdale
Jan 19, 2010, 09:16 AM
Are you positive that your cable is connected properly and secured? Are you positive you didn't format after partitioning into two or more partitions? Do you know how to use the Disk Utility and what partitions you should be using?

I would bet this is user error due to the fact that you don't have a solid instruction set. I would advise you to find some information online on how to check your drive partitions and format using the different options in Disk Utility. Also ensure that you read some information about ensuring your LIF cable is properly secured. Apple uses tape to secure the stock LIF cable to the drive.

I agree with the other poster, the Runcore SSD is a solid product. However, it really needs an instructional video on its website and an instruction sheet for all installers. It would probably eliminate 95% of all problems reported here if users could properly follow an instruction set. I wouldn't blame users... it's just too bad Runcore isn't providing the instructions which could surely almost entirely eliminate the negative threads popping up here randomly.

samtim
Jan 19, 2010, 11:32 AM
LinMac:
I contacted RunCore via /support/ on their site and phone numbers on the site- no reply yet.
Why should I try to contact them in so many ways? Hmm I would love to call RunCore CEO if I knew his number:)

Scottsdale:
I didnt do anything to the drive - just connected it and it running perfectly in 32 gb "mode"It could be user problem but not this time.
It could be 32 gb with 128 gb label or who knows :(

I was contacted today by shop representative - he got reply from RunCore and they requested additional info - screenshots of disk utility and etc. He sent that to RunCore.

LinMac
Jan 20, 2010, 12:22 AM
LinMac:
I contacted RunCore via /support/ on their site and phone numbers on the site- no reply yet.
Why should I try to contact them in so many ways? Hmm I would love to call RunCore CEO if I knew his number:)


I originally sent in two separate requests via the support contact form on their website and never received any replies. They make a solid product, but support is a bit lacking so contacting them multiple ways might be more likely to yield a response.

ntrigue
Jan 20, 2010, 03:19 AM
Sounds like three of four sectors of the drive is failed or you haven't partitioned correctly...

I would gander a guess that you should use Disk Utility to partition.

iDisk
Jan 20, 2010, 06:12 AM
It's so interesting to see threads like this now, (which seems to be more and more).

Your using an aftermarket SSD that APPLE doesn't support. Who cares if they support Apple, Apple has to officially approve them to satisfy me. People who do this and aren't tech saavy (engineering wise) to trouble shoot it themselves should expect issues, and some people will not have issues at all.

I guess I say all this to say, it goes to show us when things go south with aftermarket devices, we're unable to phone AppleCare or go to Apple for quick direct support. Instead our friend here and others who complain about the Aftermarket SSD or have issues with it, must deal with 3star or less customer service and "wait" for replies etc & deal with phone conversations that sound like this

Support: "ummmm.. Ummmm.. Ummmm.. Does it saaaay 126GB?? " ...
Caller: " Yes! 128GB!, what do I need to do? What's the problem?!"
Support: "Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhh"
Caller: " HEY! What are you doing overthere"
Support: " Hi! How can I help you?"
Caller: " <Puts palm on forehead> ohhh boy, I got a live one here"

I hope you get your issue fixed samtim. :)

iDisk


:apple:

coast1ja
Jan 20, 2010, 07:46 AM
I once had a stock ssd crash in a rev.A MBA. I ran disk utility and everything appeared fine. I reloaded the OS and everything was fine until I restored from time machine... It got to 32gb and said there was no more space on the drive. I didn't even know that half of an ssd could die... But that's what happened.

samtim
Jan 20, 2010, 09:18 AM
Still no reply from manufacturer.

ntrigue:
i didnt do anything to the drive since i unboxed it, i just ran disk utility to make screen shot and sent it to shop.


LinMac:
Solid product needs solid backup, i discovered that they were asked for clear installation manuals long time ago - nothing yet.

iDisk:
a bit sarcastic approach but its the truth - some vendors dont have motivation to bother.

coast1ja:
you had to replace ssd? it 3/4 of it failed for good?

Scottsdale
Jan 20, 2010, 09:32 AM
I once had a stock ssd crash in a rev.A MBA. I ran disk utility and everything appeared fine. I reloaded the OS and everything was fine until I restored from time machine... It got to 32gb and said there was no more space on the drive. I didn't even know that half of an ssd could die... But that's what happened.

That makes sense, and that could be the OP's problem. However, I still wonder if it is somehow related to the cable. I know from experience that the cable causes problems if not secured properly. I also know that the lack of an instruction set causes more threads like this than anything. Think of how many people have been ticked and started a thread just like this. I am convinced that if they had an instructional video, or just a list of instructions on a sheet of paper, all of the problems could have been avoided.

samtim
Jan 20, 2010, 02:42 PM
That makes sense, and that could be the OP's problem. However, I still wonder if it is somehow related to the cable. I know from experience that the cable causes problems if not secured properly. I also know that the lack of an instruction set causes more threads like this than anything. Think of how many people have been ticked and started a thread just like this. I am convinced that if they had an instructional video, or just a list of instructions on a sheet of paper, all of the problems could have been avoided.

yes, exactly. in the end - they are not selling socks, aren't they?
still no reply and whats more interesting - comments from company guy who answered few questions on this forum.
well obviously im going to send ssd for refund to shop, im just tired of such attitude.

coast1ja
Jan 20, 2010, 08:32 PM
I think RunCore's email support form isn't working correctly. I once sent them an email through that form and received the email in my account... and never heard a response from them. Perhaps the code is wrong and it sends it to the email address in the form instead of to runcore?

Scottsdale
Jan 20, 2010, 09:46 PM
yes, exactly. in the end - they are not selling socks, aren't they?
still no reply and whats more interesting - comments from company guy who answered few questions on this forum.
well obviously im going to send ssd for refund to shop, im just tired of such attitude.

I will send Matt an email right now. I am sure it probably has more to do with an email glitch, or somebody is home ill for a few days. Runcore has been really solid about replying to people, especially those who have had problems.

Give them another chance... just a day or two. If no reply, send it back then. Otherwise, you're the one losing out. It's really a great product and a dream to use.

iDisk
Jan 20, 2010, 10:16 PM
I will send Matt an email right now. I am sure it probably has more to do with an email glitch, or somebody is home ill for a few days. Runcore has been really solid about replying to people, especially those who have had problems.

Give them another chance... just a day or two. If no reply, send it back then. Otherwise, you're the one losing out. It's really a great product and a dream to use.

Wow, your a real evangelist for this company. Granted the product works excellent for you and a few others, but our friend here, is getting the " run around" class zero support.

I've heard Applecare playing games but at least they can speak to the disgruntled user.

Maybe you should be a hired support employee. Your responding quicker then "Matt"... BTW doesn't that guy have a MacRumors account? I know he reads this stuff

samtim
Jan 21, 2010, 01:44 AM
Hello guys&girls,

Thanks for your input.
Today I finally recieved message from RunCore representative directly.
Im asked to take pic of ssd internals, my first reaction was like "Oo"?
I asked if it void warranty? She said its 'Ok'
Actually, I dont think its Ok. Nevertheless, I said I will open ssd only if shop approve it.

Runcore
Jan 21, 2010, 09:03 AM
Sorry guys I am on vacation and was just informed of this thread.

If you still don't have her up and running after reading the amazingly descriptive trouble shooting tips by the board members then it has to be some kind of manufacturing defect.

Please send the drive back to the vendor ASAP for replacement and you should be all set. If you have any issues contacting the vendor please PM me and I will take care of you ASAP.

Thank You,

Matt Dawson
Runcore

P.S. Regarding taking a pic of the inside of the drive. The engineering team mentioned an issue with soldering in the last batch they may want to know if yours has that issue sooner rather than later after it comes back from the vendor. So if you could please take that image for them and then send it back to the vendor that would be great.

MacModMachine
Jan 21, 2010, 09:30 AM
Sorry guys I am on vacation and was just informed of this thread.

If you still don't have her up and running after reading the amazingly descriptive trouble shooting tips by the board members then it has to be some kind of manufacturing defect.

Please send the drive back to the vendor ASAP for replacement and you should be all set. If you have any issues contacting the vendor please PM me and I will take care of you ASAP.

Thank You,

Matt Dawson
Runcore

P.S. Regarding taking a pic of the inside of the drive. The engineering team mentioned an issue with soldering in the last batch they may want to know if yours has that issue sooner rather than later after it comes back from the vendor. So if you could please take that image for them and then send it back to the vendor then that would be great.

hey matt,

i recieved a 64gb ver b/c with a bad external enclosure, sent a email to MDD 2 weeks ago and heard nothing.

please advise,

thanks

samtim
Jan 21, 2010, 12:03 PM
Runcore, Ive sent email to RunCore representative containing chips symbols and pics of chips (not really good quality- but all i could manage)

Please make sure that RunCore takes action faster at any type of user request - check their site support feature and phone numbers.

GoCubsGo
Jan 21, 2010, 12:13 PM
Runcore, Ive sent email to RunCore representative containing chips symbols and pics of chips (not really good quality- but all i could manage)

Please make sure that RunCore takes action faster at any type of user request - check their site support feature and phone numbers.

It's good to see they've responded. It is disgusting to watch their representative back them up to a point where they excuse poor customer service. Even if this is user error RunCore should have responded faster. One guy going on vacation doesn't negate piss poor customer service.

I'd like to know how it all turns out. I was deeply interested in RunCore's product and was impressed by their level of constant interaction here after their representative Scotsdale mentioned how great they were.

Scottsdale
Jan 21, 2010, 04:02 PM
Runcore, Ive sent email to RunCore representative containing chips symbols and pics of chips (not really good quality- but all i could manage)

Please make sure that RunCore takes action faster at any type of user request - check their site support feature and phone numbers.

Okay, he's on vacation. That surely makes me feel better for you. Send it back. I hope you give them a chance to replace it. You surely will enjoy it once you get the issue corrected. I would make sure you get a new cable too.

mydigital-DH
Jan 22, 2010, 02:16 PM
hey matt,

i recieved a 64gb ver b/c with a bad external enclosure, sent a email to MDD 2 weeks ago and heard nothing.

please advise,

thanks

I'm sorry you have been having trouble getting through, please call 315-343-0090 between the hours of 9-430 EST, Mon-Fri... if you can not get through leave a message, we will get back to you shortly. Thanks

Douglas

samtim
Jan 23, 2010, 07:05 AM
Was off for weekend. Yesterday I got messages from RunCore saying that my SSD is subject to RMA. RunCore asked me to send ssd to them, but I think Im gonna send it for refund to the shop I bought from.

few thoughts:

1st and most important!
Runcore, make sure that your every dealer/shop checks all SSDs before sending to end-user!

2nd
Do something with end-user support. People addressing you - manufacturer and getting no response or late response.

3d
Do better Quality Control, you making good ssds many people out there enjoy.

LinMac
Jan 23, 2010, 07:34 AM
I can understand your frustration, but you might want to think twice about returning the RunCore drive.

There aren't many SSDs available for the Macbook Air and the RunCore competitors aren't any where near as fast as the RunCore drives. You can check the benchmarks yourself to confirm it.

No matter what trouble you have with them. They're worth it in the end.

jimboutilier
Jan 23, 2010, 09:26 AM
I can understand your frustration, but you might want to think twice about returning the RunCore drive.

There aren't many SSDs available for the Macbook Air and the RunCore competitors aren't any where near as fast as the RunCore drives. You can check the benchmarks yourself to confirm it.

No matter what trouble you have with them. They're worth it in the end.

While I applaud RunCore for being an innovative new small business that produces products you either can't seem to find anywhere else or perform better than others, I'll point out this is a classic MAC vs PC situation.

At the risk of putting forth two huge stereotypes (but which from my experience are often true), PC folks tend to be tinkerers that are attracted to large feature sets and fast specs, while long time MAC folks are more interested in trouble free productivity and are not too concerned with whats under the hood or how many features something has. I realize this can be very different for recent switchers (in either direction) and not all folks fit into these stereotypes.

Runcore products seem to appear sporadicly in small batches, each batch differing somewhat, with most drives working but each batch having new and interesting problems. Many months after release there are still no decent instructions. Accessories still seem to be of very low quality (which might make some think about the quality of the product itself). Support seems to be from people that care but the systems and procedures in place and the staff quantity make for a pretty poor support experience. So the SOLE things on the positive side are some speed (and in the RevA case) capacity.

Do you really think the Runcore Speed over the stock SSD speed is going to recoup the productivity folks lost with the issues they've had over the life of the drive? And what if the failure rates on these new products are higher? And is Runcore going to be there for you a year or two from now if you have a failure? You have to think about all those things. Maybe these new and unproven products are going to be fantastic and maybe in a year or two RunCore's success will be such they've fixed all their issues and their financial situation will allow them to offer great support. I just don't have to worry about these things with an Apple product.

So for those that have had a trouble free Runcore experience, and enjoy the extra speed over the life of the product, I think thats great. But realize not everyones priorities are the same and a RunCore drive might not be everyone's best choice.

samtim
Jan 23, 2010, 12:09 PM
LinMac, jimboutilier pointed out exactly what I'm looking for - fast and reliable solution. RunCore here to offer nice aftermarket upgrade for mac, they should match. In every aspect.

alphaod
Jan 24, 2010, 02:48 AM
1st and most important!
Runcore, make sure that your every dealer/shop checks all SSDs before sending to end-user!


That would mean every drive sold is "used" which I wouldn't pay full price for. ;)

x-machine
Jan 24, 2010, 04:08 AM
Is there a reason not to just get a proper SSD like the Intel X25-M that almost everyone else is using? At least they hardly slow down over time without TRIM command support... I've got one in my iMac and another in my macbook and they're excellent!

samtim
Jan 24, 2010, 04:40 AM
That would mean every drive sold is "used" which I wouldn't pay full price for. ;)

haha, i bet all equipment that runs through quality control check - is used one:)

x-machine, im gonna put ssd purchase on hold for now - no matter what brand it is. i will get updated ssd with bigger capacity.

Scottsdale
Jan 24, 2010, 10:24 AM
Is there a reason not to just get a proper SSD like the Intel X25-M that almost everyone else is using? At least they hardly slow down over time without TRIM command support... I've got one in my iMac and another in my macbook and they're excellent!

It will not fit in the MBA, and it doesn't have the same connector. The MBA uses a 1.8" drive that must also max at 5mm height clearance. Also, the MBA uses an LIF connector rather than a standard SATA-II connector. While it would be great to have an Intel SSD in the MBA, Intel isn't currently making an SSD that would fit in the MBA. In addition, the only company making an SSD that will fit and has the right connector is the Runcore SSD.

In all actuality, the Runcore SSD is an excellent drive. The performance improvements are between 3x and 5x over the stock Samsung SSD. So one needs to compare potential products that operate in the MBA, and the Runcore SSD is a no brainer for a complete system performance boost.

samtim
Feb 6, 2010, 10:18 PM
update:

Runcore received ssd Iíve sent to them and after check manufacturer admitted - it is really 32 gb instead of 128 gb.
I asked what was the reason - wrong labeling or else - they going to investigate problem and will give reply.