PDA

View Full Version : Power Mac G5 64 bit?




philipt42
Jan 25, 2010, 07:15 PM
Anyone still use a Power Mac G5 as their main machine?
How does it run?
Can it run 64 bit applications under tiger and leopard?
(I don't think it matters, but this is the dual processor 2.0 GHZ model)



disconap
Jan 25, 2010, 08:52 PM
All G5s are 64-bit, so it can run apps that are PPC or Universal and coded for 64-bit (I believe CS4 takes a little advantage of that, can't remember where I read that though). There have been a few tests showing the differences between 64-bit and 32-bit on Intels and PPC, most of them show the same performance or even slightly slower performance under 64 on PPC (vs 30-40% improvement on Intel), so it's not that big a deal either way. On the Mac PPC line, the real advantage to 64-bit is addressing larger amounts of RAM, but if you don't have 4gb or more, it won't make much of a difference...

Leopard isn't really a 64-bit OS no matter what you read; most of the components are 32-bit, but again, it's not really a benefit to G5s anyhow. ;)

goMac
Jan 25, 2010, 09:27 PM
64 bit applications require 10.5. I don't know of any major 64 bit applications for the PowerPC. CS4 definitely does not take advantage of 64 bit.

Apple has also already discontinued support for PowerPC 64 in their development tools.

appleguy123
Jan 25, 2010, 09:31 PM
Would have fit in your other thread. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=853831

philipt42
Jan 26, 2010, 08:40 AM
Would have fit in your other thread. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=853831

That wasn't my thread! :)

appleguy123
Jan 26, 2010, 08:51 PM
That wasn't my thread! :)

Sorry I looked at your posts instead of your threads started and you posted in that thread. Again sorry. :)