PDA

View Full Version : iMac G3 CPU - RAM - HD - OS upgrade




MacintoshMaster
Jan 26, 2010, 10:37 AM
Hi there,
I have a iMac G3 with the following specs:

350MHz
512MB RAM
(not sure about the hard drive but it isn't very big)

Now,
Could I upgrade the processor to an Intel, G5, G4 or a better G3.
What is best processor I could put into it?

How much ram at max can it take?

What hard drive can I put into it?

Could I put leopard/ Snow Leopard on it?

Thanks,
John.



belvdr
Jan 26, 2010, 10:40 AM
If you want to get to Leopard or Snow Leopard, I'd advise getting a Mac Mini and an external monitor. You'd spend just as much with messing with that G3.

Also, keep in mind the CRT in the G3 carries hazardous voltage. If you go probing around in there, you could get electrocuted in short fashion.

EDIT: I assume you have the slot loading iMac. Here are the specs for it:

http://apple-history.com/?page=gallery&model=imacslot&sort=date&performa=off&order=ASC

miles01110
Jan 26, 2010, 10:42 AM
Hi there,
I have a iMac G3 with the following specs:

Now,
Could I upgrade the processor to an Intel, G5, G4 or a better G3.

No.

Could I put leopard/ Snow Leopard on it?


No. SL needs an Intel processor.

MacintoshMaster
Jan 26, 2010, 10:55 AM
If you want to get to Leopard or Snow Leopard, I'd advise getting a Mac Mini and an external monitor. You'd spend just as much with messing with that G3.

Also, keep in mind the CRT in the G3 carries hazardous voltage. If you go probing around in there, you could get electrocuted in short fashion.

EDIT: I assume you have the slot loading iMac. Here are the specs for it:

http://apple-history.com/?page=gallery&model=imacslot&sort=date&performa=off&order=ASC

Hi,
I am getting a new iMac 27'' soon but I just would like this G3 as some fun!

Airforcekid
Jan 26, 2010, 11:13 AM
In theory 700mzh 1GB of ram and 120gb hard drive leopard would not be useable tiger 10.4.11 would be just as good. There still great macs but it may be easier to buy a snow G3 maxed out for $20.