PDA

View Full Version : Mac Pro 2.8 (2008), problem with new 2TB drive




darkpaw
Jan 28, 2010, 07:37 AM
Hi all. I wonder if you guys could help me out here?

First, the Mac Pro's specs:
- 2x2.8GHz Early 2008
- 4 SATA-II HDD drive bays containing:
+ Bay 1: OS X, 500GB Western Digital WD5000AAKS (Apple-supplied)
+ Bay 2: Data, 500GB Western Digital WD5000AAKS (Sep 2007)
+ Bay 3: Stuff, 1.5TB Seagate ST31500341AS
+ Bay 4: Projects, 750GB Samsung HD753LJ

The problem I'm experiencing is that the Data drive in Bay 2 is no longer mounting on startup. It doesn't even show as a drive in Disk Utility.

I've moved the drive to a different bay and it will mount on bootup about 20% of the time. If I put Projects or Stuff into Bay 2, they work fine, so it's not the bay itself.

I ran the Apple Hardware Test's extended tests and looped them overnight, but it reported "No trouble found". Sometimes, Apple System Profiler reports, "There was an error while scanning for Serial-ATA devices".

Running a disk check on Data when it does mount yields no problems, so the data's fine (and it's backed-up anyway).

I needed a larger drive so got a 2TB Hitachi. The Mac Pro isn't recognising it anywhere. It's not there in Disk Utility. The Finder doesn't tell me I've inserted a disk that OS X can't recognise, etc.

Apple hasn't updated the specs for the Early 2008 to state that it can handle a 2TB drive (as 1TB's were the only ones available in early 2008), which isn't a problem because Google yields lots of results with people using 2TB drives perfectly well.

I've tried the drive in all four bays and it is never recognised.

I'm getting really annoyed with this now, as all my music is on the Data drive and I can't do anything in iTunes anymore. (Not the biggest problem, but one of the main ones...)

I don't want to sound desperate, but please help!



Cindori
Jan 28, 2010, 08:26 AM
it simply sounds broken. try it in windows to eliminate osx issues.

darkpaw
Jan 28, 2010, 10:40 AM
it simply sounds broken. try it in windows to eliminate osx issues.
I'll try Windows. Thanks for the suggestion!

Which part of the setup do you think might be broken? The SATA bay, the logic board, the drive itself, the new drive as well? Or the Apple Hardware Test for not reporting that the SATA bay is borked?

Cheers.

bearcatrp
Jan 28, 2010, 11:58 AM
I have a 2TB hitachi drive in bay 2 holding my iTunes. No problems. Try reseating it. Should get a prompt to initialize the drive.

darkpaw
Jan 28, 2010, 01:21 PM
I have a 2TB hitachi drive in bay 2 holding my iTunes. No problems. Try reseating it. Should get a prompt to initialize the drive.
Nope, it just sits there and clicks, which is usually the sign of a borked drive. I guess I'll send it back and get a replacement :(

Thanks for the ideas!

bearcatrp
Jan 28, 2010, 06:08 PM
Sounds like a DOA drive. Send it back, I have 4 1TB hitachi drives and 1 2TB hitachi drive. Never had a problem with them.

pablogott
Feb 11, 2010, 09:37 PM
I just got my second DOA 2TB Hitachi drive from Newegg, the replacement drive does the same as the original, it just never gets recognized. I tried the first one in 2 mac pro's. I also have a working drive in there, same model, HDS722020ALA330.

akadmon
Feb 11, 2010, 10:00 PM
I just got my second DOA 2TB Hitachi drive from Newegg, the replacement drive does the same as the original, it just never gets recognized. I tried the first one in 2 mac pro's. I also have a working drive in there, same model, HDS722020ALA330.

Anybody else having issues with 2TB drives, especially on older MPs? I'm on a MP 1,1 and I'm itching to replace one or two of my 1 TB WD Blacks.

JesterJJZ
Feb 12, 2010, 02:24 AM
I love newegg but I get my drives from zipzoomfly.com (http://www.zipzoomfly.com) They have more secure shipping.

gelid
Feb 14, 2010, 07:12 AM
I got a Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 from a local retailer today, installed it in the 2nd optical drive bay of my '08 MP, and connected it to one of the spare SATA headers. It also gave me an excuse to clean all the dust out of my machine.

So far, so good. I ran X Bench on it, and it is not the fastest drive in the world, but it should be good enough for my purposes (Time Machine).

Results 59.85
System Info
Xbench Version 1.3
System Version 10.6.2 (10C540)
Physical RAM 13312 MB
Model MacPro3,1
Drive Type Hitachi HDS722020ALA330
Disk Test 59.85
Sequential 137.52
Uncached Write 210.13 129.02 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Write 208.72 118.10 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Uncached Read 66.15 19.36 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Read 226.20 113.69 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Random 38.25
Uncached Write 12.15 1.29 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Write 137.74 44.10 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Uncached Read 106.45 0.75 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Read 177.85 33.00 MB/sec [256K blocks]


Build date is Dec 2009. Firmware is 28A.

I've read some reviews on Newegg saying this drive is loud. To me, it isn't any louder than my 1.5TB Seagate drives. I don't find it annoying by any means. I can barely hear it.

Rad
Feb 14, 2010, 10:16 AM
Similar problems in a 2006 Mac Pro.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=855972

flatfoot
Feb 15, 2010, 10:46 AM
Any news on the 2TB Hitachi in 06/08 Mac Pros?

I'll have to upgrade my internal HDs in the next few days and the 2TB drives would be most sensible cost/performance-ratio-wise...

xgman
Feb 16, 2010, 10:27 AM
I have a Western Digital 2GB RE-4GP 7200/64mb cache drive coming this week for an 08 MP, and I'm hoping I don't see any of these issues that the Hitachi is possibly showing.

bearcatrp
Feb 16, 2010, 01:48 PM
Any news on the 2TB Hitachi in 06/08 Mac Pros?

I'll have to upgrade my internal HDs in the next few days and the 2TB drives would be most sensible cost/performance-ratio-wise...

My 2TB Hitachi works great. Using it for my iTunes drive. Faster than my 1TB Hitachi drives. Ordering another next month for my backup iTunes drive.