PDA

View Full Version : Powermac G4 Sawtooth 400MHz Ram,




gibbo132
Jan 29, 2010, 06:36 PM
Hi, On amazon I have found the type of ram i need, PC100/133 SDRAM but am confused at the terms ECC/Non-ECC and Buffered and Unbuffered ram.
Will both of these rams work in a Powermac G4 400Mhz Sawtooth?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Computer-Memory-Upgrade-SDRAM-PC100/dp/B001EL0E82/ref=sr_1_18?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1264811679&sr=1-18

http://www.amazon.co.uk/512MB-PC133-168-PIN-MEMORY-DESKTOPS/dp/B001CZ4BS4/ref=dp_cp_ob_ce_title_1

Thanks,
Chris



raziel777
Jan 29, 2010, 06:39 PM
http://www.computer-memory-upgrade-stick.com/ecc-vs-non-ecc.htm

I'd go for the non-ecc.

raziel777
Jan 29, 2010, 06:43 PM
PC100 is what you will need.

gibbo132
Jan 29, 2010, 06:47 PM
Thanks, I read online that PC100 and PC133 were backwards compatible though ie the 133 will run a 100 or have I got that wrong?

raziel777
Jan 29, 2010, 06:51 PM
You are right. The pc133 will run at pc100 speed.
So it might be cheaper to just get the pc100.

gibbo132
Jan 30, 2010, 03:35 AM
Even though the PC100 is ECC?

macz1
Jan 30, 2010, 04:43 AM
I think the G4 accepts only non-ECC RAM. Both PC100 and PC133 can be used and even mixed, they will all run at 100MHz. I noticed that PC133 RAM can often be found cheaper than PC100 RAM (don't ask me why) especially the 512MB modules...

Good luck with your G4 (I have one, too... still going strong!)

gibbo132
Jan 30, 2010, 04:47 AM
Great! I its good to get a straight answer from someone! I got the G4 really cheap of eBay original box, mouse and keyboard! I hope to use it as a file/itunes server :)

Thanks,
Chris

OrangeSVTguy
Jan 30, 2010, 08:52 AM
Just make sure it's low density memory. G4s can be very picky. I've had ECC work in my old G4 before but that's not saying that all ECC memory will work.... Stick to name-brand low density memory.

disconap
Jan 30, 2010, 08:50 PM
G3s and G4s are insanely picky. I bought all my ram for those systems using Ramseeker.com, and I would continue to use it as the place to point me in the right direction if I needed it. TOO many times I saw people buy ram at a discount and then have it not work; it was always worth the extra couple of bucks to me to be sure...

gibbo132
Jan 31, 2010, 04:15 AM
I bought some ram last night on eBuyer. I guess I can tell you if it works on monday!