PDA

View Full Version : Best Speakers for Mac Audiophile

Bman
Aug 24, 2004, 01:47 AM
Need advice on buying some multimedia speakers for my iBook 700. I've just been accepted into a band playing guitar, and need to listen to the song list to rehearse. Thus the current iBook speakers are no good as I can't hear the bass notes. (I play Bass and Guitar, so will need to hear both ends of the music spectrum).

Plus, being an Architect, I'll of course want for the speakers to look the part, in keeping with the design of the iBook.

I'm seriously considering the The JBL Creature II from Harmond JBL, which look fantastic, but apparently the mid range is so-so. Any advice would be great, as i need to purchase the speakers within the next few days.

raynegus
Aug 24, 2004, 02:30 AM
IMHO, none of the speakers designed for computer use are very good. The problem is that none of them have a decent amp, which of course is at the heart of good sound.

On a budget, I'd get a NAD 320BEE amp with a pair of Ascend CBM-170 speakers and some Zu Julian speaker cables.

The sound will knock your socks off for about $800 which is a bargain for what you get. Add a sub later and you are set.

http://www.nadelectronics.com/

http://www.ascendacoustics.com/pages/products/speakers/cbm170/cbm170.html

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=14966&item=5716842599&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

rogerw
Aug 24, 2004, 03:53 PM
Need advice on buying some multimedia speakers for my iBook 700. I've just been accepted into a band playing guitar, and need to listen to the song list to rehearse. Thus the current iBook speakers are no good as I can't hear the bass notes. (I play Bass and Guitar, so will need to hear both ends of the music spectrum).

Plus, being an Architect, I'll of course want for the speakers to look the part, in keeping with the design of the iBook.