Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

exoskel8

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 1, 2009
Hey guys I'm new to the forums so hi.

Ok, I bought cod4 about a year ago, but never got into it. Now, I recently started playing and it was fun. My fps, though, was absolutely terrible.

I have lowered the settings down to very low (no depth of field, shadows)
it still hovers around 15-20

my computer is a white macbook (2008)
i have a 2.1 GHz processor
my graphics card is an Intel GMA X3100
and i have 2gb ram, i'm upgrading to 4 soon.

Also, on a side note, sometimes when i'm in a dark area of a map, my weapon, and all the stuff around me (aside from walls), like the scenery goes pitch black. This is just weird and looks bad because it dosn't seem to happen to other people.

ayeying

macrumors 601
Dec 5, 2007
Yay Area, CA
It's your video card. The X3100 is horrible at games.

And no, you cannot upgrade your video card because it's soldered onto the motherboard.

And no, upgrading the ram won't do much because the limitation is the video card.

El Cabong

macrumors 6502a
Dec 1, 2008
If it's any consolation, CoD4 is terribly optimized for OSX. Playing in Boot Camp Vista on my MBP gets me a significant boost in frame rate over running in OSX, even with higher settings.

Unfortunately, at the end of the day, your computer simply isn't up to the task. The RAM upgrade won't do you much good.

Richdmoore

macrumors 68000
Jul 24, 2007
Troutdale, OR
Yeah, I think most of the people I know (including me) who want to game go with a Mac & combine an xbox or playstation with it. (I have a GMA 950 macbook.)

bsblvnv

macrumors regular
Jan 29, 2010
Las Vegas
Honestly, I don't think it's realistic to expect a satisfying CoD4 gaming experience on a Macbook.