PDA

View Full Version : How can I make my G4 accept a 500 GB HDD?




Shake 'n' Bake
Feb 6, 2010, 11:00 AM
To make a long story short, a few months ago I bought a PATA 500 GB HDD for a project that didn't really work.

So now I'm stuck with it in the old computer because the only other thing that takes PATA is my PowerMac. Last week, I plugged the drive in and it got just over 128 GB registered.

Is there any way I can make the PowerMac see the whole 500 GB without buying a new ATA controller or adapters?

Thanks.



flatfoot
Feb 6, 2010, 11:22 AM
There's no other way than a PCI PATA controller.

Shake 'n' Bake
Feb 6, 2010, 11:40 AM
I'm trying four partitions of ~120 GB each, just to see what happens.

flatfoot
Feb 6, 2010, 11:48 AM
I'm trying four partitions of ~120 GB each, just to see what happens.

You might try that but I'm afraid the controller can only "see" the first 128GB of the drive anyway.

666sheep
Feb 6, 2010, 01:40 PM
There is another way: http://www.speedtools.com/ATA6.html, but not for free.
There was another software, called Overdrive (or OverDrive), but now i could not find any info or download source (it was freeware).
You can also try this OF hack: http://nanchatte.wordpress.com/2008/04/27/128gb-large-hdd-lba48-support-on-the-g4-cube-with-leopard/
It works perfectly with Cube, but i never tried it with other Power Mac.

Dr.Pants
Feb 6, 2010, 02:26 PM
There was another software, called Overdrive (or OverDrive), but now i could not find any info or download source (it was freeware).

Found on Versiontracker (http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/209276). I'm pretty sure that's the only place on the internet where it exists ATM.

There are some risks hinted at here (http://68kmla.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=10300). Mainly, the big one, an NVRAM reset might obliterate your capability to read your HDD and maybe even your HDD (aka data loss). So, reset your NVRAM with care and backup your machine, if you can.

EDIT - So, apparently the dev site is down so its not downloadable. Awesome.

EDIT 2 - Maybe at Techrepublic (http://software.techrepublic.com.com/abstract.aspx?docid=663127), but I dunno, I don't want to sign up for something (even if its free) and get a 404 error.

Might have a better time searching torrents, somebody may have it seeded.

Shake 'n' Bake
Feb 6, 2010, 03:01 PM
I'm going to try the Cube thing. It's worth a shot, and I can always reset the PRAM if it doesn't work.

Shake 'n' Bake
Feb 6, 2010, 03:17 PM
Cube thing worked!

If you're going to try it, note that the underscores in the second section are supposed to be spaces.

Another quick question: is it at all possible to move the stuff from the original HDD to the 500 GB one without an install disc? The earliest OS X I have is Leopard, and it for a Mac mini.

Sorry, one more: How do you get a HDD in the slot beneath the optical drive? The IDE slot on the optical drive is on the opposite side to the HDD, making it impossible to have both at the same time.

beto2k7
Feb 6, 2010, 03:26 PM
Cube thing worked!

...Another quick question: is it at all possible to move the stuff from the original HDD to the 500 GB one without an install disc? The earliest OS X I have is Leopard, and it for a Mac mini.
...

SuperDuper.

davidlv
Feb 8, 2010, 02:14 AM
Cube thing worked!
Sorry, one more: How do you get a HDD in the slot beneath the optical drive? The IDE slot on the optical drive is on the opposite side to the HDD, making it impossible to have both at the same time.
There are other options, but I don't know they will suit you, such as buying an externaI HD case for that PATA drive. OWC has a selection available as I am sure other vendor do too.
I had a Quicksilver G4, and if I remember correctly there are three trays for HDs, 1, 2, and 3 from left to right and 3. actually should hold 2 drives stacked one on top of the other. The standard IDE cable from the motherboard is an IDE 66 cable and you can connect a drive set "master" at the end of that cable and a drive set to "slave" on the middle connecter. Some cables may have only 1 connecter so it will be the "master" setting. If you want to connect 2 drives, just buy a cable with 2 connetors at one end (actually HD end, middle nearer the HD end, and motherboard side end). Check the pins on the drive, they are usually set to "master, single drive by default. You can find longer cables with 2 connectors just far enough apart to connect 2 drives placed side by side in trays #2 and #3. (one set to master, the other to slave). I know you said without doing it, but rather than a software solution, you can find a cheap PCI IDE 66 or even 133 hardware card, with 2 separate connectors (need 2 cables) and that will give you a little better performance. In the end, I think purchasing all the stuff required to get a G4 running well costs too much, in my opinion you are better off saving up for a Mac Mini.
Just an opinion :D:apple::D