PDA

View Full Version : Help me out (website on MobileMe)




Anthonydrums
Feb 8, 2010, 04:06 PM
Hey guys,

I've been using iWeb a while now but i am very interested in purchasing the Mobileme package cause i bought a new Iphone. However... I am aware that in collaboration with this subscription you will have the option to place your website on this account. How exactly does that work. Will i be able to move my existing domain name to this Mobileme account? If so can somebody explain how?

Thanks in advance

Greets :apple:



swiftaw
Feb 8, 2010, 04:11 PM
In iWeb you would just choose to publish to MobileMe, and I think it allows you to use your own domain name.

Anthonydrums
Feb 8, 2010, 04:14 PM
In iWeb you would just choose to publish to MobileMe, and I think it allows you to use your own domain name.

Thanks for the quick reply.

I already have this existing domain name with another provider can i just move this to my MobileMe Account?

Greets :apple:

Penguissimo
Feb 8, 2010, 09:50 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.

I already have this existing domain name with another provider can i just move this to my MobileMe Account?

Greets :apple:

Yep! I have mine set up this way; I don't remember off the top of my head exactly what the process was, but MobileMe had a pretty thorough tutorial in the setup pane of the (browser, not System Preferences) configuration. If I recall correctly, you just tell MM what your domain name is, then create a CNAME record for MobileMe with your domain name provider. Apple holds your hand through the process pretty well, so it's hard to go wrong ;)

Anthonydrums
Feb 9, 2010, 04:39 AM
Yep! I have mine set up this way; I don't remember off the top of my head exactly what the process was, but MobileMe had a pretty thorough tutorial in the setup pane of the (browser, not System Preferences) configuration. If I recall correctly, you just tell MM what your domain name is, then create a CNAME record for MobileMe with your domain name provider. Apple holds your hand through the process pretty well, so it's hard to go wrong ;)

Thanks!... I'm probably going to the store today...

IgnatiusTheKing
Feb 9, 2010, 09:23 AM
I know you said you've been using iWeb, but in case you ever decide to make your website more in-depth than what iWeb can offer you, know that you can't use PHP on MobileMe.

Macsterguy
Feb 9, 2010, 11:26 AM
Or use RapidWeaver which can publish to your MobileMe account or your own provider - fantastic utility at only $79:

http://www.realmacsoftware.com/rapidweaver/

Then there is SquareSpace - WOW:

http://www.squarespace.com/examples/

In both cases, much more then iWeb (nothing against iWeb but once you use it you are sort of trapped), have a look at the example sites

Anthonydrums
Feb 10, 2010, 04:26 AM
Or use RapidWeaver which can publish to your MobileMe account or your own provider - fantastic utility at only $79:

http://www.realmacsoftware.com/rapidweaver/

Then there is SquareSpace - WOW:

http://www.squarespace.com/examples/

In both cases, much more then iWeb (nothing against iWeb but once you use it you are sort of trapped), have a look at the example sites

Heaps of thanks to all the repliers